Beautiful Sunday —let's go to the park with AbbeysteemCreated with Sketch.



Today we took Abbey to Bayview Park (aka Wag Park).

When we arrived there was only one dog— a big old Newfoundland dog — nice and kicked back. He greeted Abbey and showed her about ten feet of the park and then needed a nap. He definitely wasn't the let's run around and own this park together type.


Abbey enjoying a quiet tour of the dog park with her Newfoundland friend


Newfoundland's very soft and kind face

In another part of the park, penned off for dogs 25 pounds and under, was a cute but yappy Coonhound. Abbey went over to greet her. She was a lovely little thing but wanted all of my attention at which point, Abbey got jealous and walked away to pout.


Abbey meeting the little Coonhound through the fence


Hey lady, where you going? Come back!

Within a few minutes a number of dogs arrived. Abbey wasn't sure of them so she stayed very close to my side. There were three very large dogs who sounded like a herd of horses as they sped passed. I took cover near a picnic table before they could sideswipe me.


I'm trouble, Yeah trouble now, I'm trouble ya'll

A very old, yet distinguished looking, german shepherd slowly crept by us. He didn't pay much attention to anything or anyone. But he was gorgeous to look at — shades of copper and charcoal showed he must have been even more so in his younger years.

Here are the beautiful troublemakers.


goofy Great Dane (140 pounds!!)



Black Lab/Great Dane cross (130 pounds!!)



black German Shepherd ball stealer



Abbey saying it's time to go home



Here is a panoramic view of the Burlington Skyline from the dog park.


The park is located in Burlington, Ontario. It's clean and well kept by stewards of the park. It's located at 1800 King Rd - Off North Service Road - between Brant and Waterdown Road.

all photos taken today by
signature.png
with Nikon D3100
edited in Lightroom




Sort:  

Getting down with the dogs.

Best way to spend the day in my opinion....very calming....even with galloping giant dogs flying by. :)

Looks like quite an assortment of dogs...The Great Dane looks like our Fergie. They are goofy and clumsy when they are pups (for three years until they are full grown). We also had a Great Dane/Black Lab cross aptly named Romeo. We lost him three years ago this Christmas. Abbey looks like she could be friends with everyone...

Losing a dog is so crappy.....and I don't think we ever get over it. We lost our australian shepherd 2 and a bit years ago and we got Abbey shortly after. She is a very gentle dog and what we learned today again, was that she doesn't like rowdy dogs.....she is the kind of dog you'd want around to calm your unruly one.....she likes people more.

Great Danes are hysterical. There are quite a few around here. I don't know how people handle them on walks.....obedience classes would be a must.

They are easier than you may think. Fergie will do anything to please me and where I go, he goes. He has decided to be my protector.

That's good to have a protector . I love the name Fergie too.

yeah, that Great Dane looks like trouble all right. Don't want him stepping on my toes :)

I didn't want him whipping by and buckling my knees....can you imagine if I feel and he trampled me? You'd laugh probably.

What a fun story with pictures and such a great day! Thoroughly enjoyed this!

We did too....! I'm glad you enjoyed the day with us, albeit in pictures and story. :)

This post has received a 20.18 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.99 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 30 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

a tiring fun day for the canine friends on #beautifulsunday

I want to apologize for forgetting to give you credit at the end of my post. Normally I would have corrected it, but I had such a hard time posting it the first time that I didn't want to get stuck again.

So thank you @ace108 for initiating #beautifulsunday. I've limited myself to three challenges a week - I was doing the colorchallenge and other stuff and it got too much. So I will be doing yours, #lovefriday and #monochromemonday.

Thanks again @ace108.

You're welcome. no need for the apology.
Enjoy your ride with the challenges.

A "Newfound-land Friend..." - Good one! ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Aww! Looks like a fun trip to the dog park :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51