matt sokol - this is a miracle (BEAT // NEW)

in #beats7 years ago

I've been watching a ton of No Jumper interviews, it's a great podcast/youtube channel where a tatted up ex-BMX dude interviews all manner of trap hip-hop musicians and a few other oddballs. I first got into it when he interviewed music reviewer extraordinaire Anthony Fantano... after watching a few other vids, I was hooked.

As a result I am deep in the trap mindset lol. This beat came out as about as trappy as anything I do. I really like the bass sound / bassline here... the melody in the second half is mostly just filler, lol, I gotta come up with something more substantial.

Almost halfway through the month and I've kept up this pace of one beat per two days... woo! It's a lot to think about but I can feel my production chops getting stronger by the second.

Thank you for all your feedback and love so far, it's been an an awesome experience. What do you think of this one? Next beat comes in two days... Peace!

This post is best viewed via ChainBB.

Sort:  

Hah my brother was on the No Jumper Vlog once! He plays Kendama, and I guess the main dude is into Kendama too.
The vid below should start at 3:45, that's when he's in it. If it doesn't play there, just fast forward to that time code.

My brother also posts here, although he's been traveling for the last month so he hasn't posted much, but I'll give him some shameless promotion here haha:
https://steemit.com/@kendama-odyssey

SICK!! I'll follow your brother. That's pretty big, No Jumper is sorta blowing the fuck up right now as far as I can tell.

Yeah definitely! They're definitely a big deal, especially in the sorta DIY trap thing in LA.

nicee!!! i want to make a drum cover :)

hell yeah! :)

i will, i promise!

That's pretty cool man. I'd love to know more about your process..

Thank you for listening! My process is usually to sit there, plug notes in (drums first usually), get confused/agitated, smoke cannabis and/or drink coffee, relax, keep trying a million variations, and end up with something I like after 2-3 hours.

I've been thinking about doing some live streams where I make a beat from scratch, like streaming for 3 hours and making a full beat along the lines of this. If I do it, I'll definitely re-post the stream video on my steem feed afterwards... will try to let you know if that happens :-)

getting close.
still a bit to staccato and arrhythmic for my tastes..
but getting closer...
not bad actually.

Haha, interesting man! I thought this one might not be to your tastes at all. Glad I am getting closer :-)

I like the sound...I LIKE the bass.
but I also like a consistent, steady, underlying rhythm.
no hesitations..no staccato..
ok...I admit I'm weird.

Upvoted...can plz upvote for me..

Dude... Ur smoking too much... I don't wanna sound mean/pretentios on you ...I still enjoy, and I go back to it,so I can listen again, I'm talking about ur 6 days ago track...to me that was original.. .. Maybe I'm too pretentious, but that's me... Stop trying... let it come... Peace✌

lol I wasn't stoned when I made this one

Sorry bro... I didn't ment it to discourage you... I see the drive and potential, and I'll be a long time follower... I see myself 1 day supporting you more then a useless Upvote.. :)

I like ur writing and dedication u put on ur blogs.... I don't need to double-check... U already did it... and I just take it.. I thank you!!

Man I heard this beat and immediately saw like a futuristic dystopian sort of setup.
An over-pimped but derelict post-apocalyptic car slowly cruising the bad neighborhoods while a downpitched narrator voice says:

"In a world of collapsed economy and society, the rules have changed. (a cybernetic rat is crossing the street) People enslaved the world without realizing they had enslaved themselves. (camera zooms in to the car as it drops it's windows down) One person can change that. (khaaaw, you can hear the hawk noise) One person can make a difference. (zoom in to the curly hair) One person is enough! (booooomm!)
Matt Sokol - the sequel"

but this beat has to play during the narration!

I like it, I think it has a lot of film potential! or that's just my crazy imagination XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52