|| LAZERBLAZERFAZER || ORIGINAL STEEMIT MUSIC! || EDM/ELECTRONIC/RETRO ||

in #beats7 years ago

laser_d645e.jpg



So I was online, looking at some cryptocurrency sites, and this one site has a built in radio function, which basically only plays electronic, Kavinsky-esque, sort of 80's retro style modern dance stuff, and I got inspired to write my own. These songs are generally pretty simple, so I had to force myself to not get crazy and try anything wild like I normally would haha. This song reminds me of VNV Nation kind of also but more pop structured.

There are basically just two sections, A and B, which after the intro (AA), just go AABBAABB etc until the end of the track except for a little interlude.

  • The A part is a basic progression, just || i, Vi, Vii, v :|| in Aminor. All the other instruments just sort of jam around these chords, mostly just arpeggiating the basic 1 3 5 of each chord.
  • The B part is just || Vi, Vii, V, Vi | Vi, Vii, V, vi :|| (the minor six has the A harmonic minor elements in it, forcing it to resolve to A from the G#)
  • Pretty much all of the song is the above, with more instruments just adding more layers to it. Nothing really changes, which is sort of the key to these kinds of songs, something I find SO difficult haha. I have to really will myself into simplicity, otherwise I just want to get too crazy and complicated.

I like trying to write in specific styles, it's a good challenge, and gives you a real appreciation for even the most simple pop songs, as there can be a lot of skill despite not being original. Anyway, hope you guys enjoy!



LISTEN TO MY MUSIC HERE!
AND SOME NEWER TRACKS HERE!

Sort:  

this like an og club hit right here

Nice one :) What was te crypto site? You got me interested.

haha well, if I post about it on steemit, my posts will be downvoted by a massive conglomerate of haters (honestly, Im not joking lol). Do you have an email or skype or something? I can send you the site there, but literally any post that mentions the site by name gets downvoted by fat whales. I think cause it's kind of a pyramid scheme/ponzi deal, which is fine whatever. But the music is so dope haha.

You have Steemit.chat or Discord? Am on both of them, best to be contact ed with my other account @edje

I'll get on Steemit.chat tonight
I am waiting for a confirmation e-mail, if I don't get it, I'll make another account.

Cool

sorry stupid steemit chat sucks lol. I've tried signing up 3 times and I can't get a confirmation e-mail.
The site is called L a s e r o n l i n e lol. It's definitely a scammy ponzi thing, but the music was too cool lol.

The music running on their main website is not bad at all! I kinda understand why you say ponzi scheme. Did Steemians downvote this one before when talking about it?

I have never talked about it, I have just seen other posts re: it and various other sites get destroyed by huge whales lol. They definitely hate those schemes

Nice :) ... simple is good sometimes. I used to over complicate things I wrote , still do quite a bit hah (along the lines of 'too many notes , just cut a few and it'll be perfect' LOL). I like to add lots of different elements , but hate to cut them :) . The chord progression is nice to listen to , but the minor 6th (i think , i dunno hah) that one definitely grabs your attention when it rolls by.

Haha yeah I do that a lot too. Too many notes, too many crazy rhythms. It's fun to just write stuff like this honestly sometimes haha.
It's definitely the minor 6. It is an Fmin chord, the Aflat in it has to resolve to the A so it feels like it needs to mooooove.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83