|| LAZER PIRATEZ || ORIGINAL STEEMIT SONGS! || EDM/ELECTRONIC/VIDEO GAME RETRO ||

in #beats7 years ago (edited)

maxresdefault.jpg



Since I enjoyed writing the other two ravey/electronic/retro dance songs so much last week, I decided last night to write another one in the same vein. It literally took like 25 minutes, but it is fun to confine yourself to simple progressions and harmonies. I feel like this could use some other instruments to build up the harmony halfway through, but I didn't find anything that blended well, it was either too inaudible, or was too distinct and distracted from the rest of the instruments. Maybe tonight I'll go back and add like a digital guitar or something, that was the go-to trick for beefing up the previous two I did.
Again, like the other 2 songs with Lazer in the title (lol), was an attempt to write a future robo-rave/video game/retro synth style song. I think I achieved that haha.

Basic song structure is AABABABA etc. into the fade out (the BPM builds up while fading out too, I just think it sounds funny so I have done it on all 3 of these dancey tracks haha). The song is in Fminor; the A section follows this basic progression: Fmin, Cmin, Db major x3 and the final measure just builds up using C major (although you can hear the arpeggiated instrument hitting the tritone [B natural] and then C, adding more tension).
The B section is another straight forward progression: Db maj, Eb maj, Fmin... Bb min, Ab maj, Fmin. However, when the Bb and Ab are played, the bass stays on Db and Eb, respectively, adding some more harmonic depth to an otherwise basic pop form.
I like the rhythm of the synth bass, playing on the upbeats every second time around except for the 8th bar in the chorus, where it moves to the downbeats, providing a break to the repitition.
The instrument pack I used for all 3 of these dancey numbers I found online for free, and it seems to have quite a few typical EDM sounds, something I was definitely lacking on Ableton, as I don't usually write songs in that genre specifically.

Hope you guys enjoy!



LISTEN TO MY MUSIC HERE!
AND SOME NEWER TRACKS HERE!

Sort:  

Laser pinpoining is the whole point of the game, and I love the sounds! Thanks a ton for this post.

this is a freakin sick track! love these dance ones

Wow! Great post.💙

Thanks for listening!

You're most welcome @grapthar! ✌

Congratulations @grapthar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59956.07
ETH 2524.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49