Scuzzy Ruckus - A Beat About Nothing || Beat Battle League S01R01 Entry

in #beatbattle7 years ago

The theme for the Beat Battle League Season Two Round One, hosted by @chiefmappster, is The Greatest Theme Song. There are many great notable theme songs that are easily recognized in popular culture, so I sampled one that is now a part of the global meme culture.


Between 1989 to 1998, NBC aired an iconic American television sitcom about nothing. Actually, it was not necessarily about nothing. The themes and topics covered were seemingly trivial, but to the main characters, it was a matter to be covered within 23-minutes (the average length of an episode).

Entertainment Television (E!) stated that this series was the number one reason the 1990s ruled. Writers Guild of America ranked it the No. 2 best written television series of all time. There are countless quotes and catchphrases that have been integrated into popular culture; i.e., Festivus, double-dipping, the re-gifter, spongeworthy, and more.

I am, of course, talking about Seinfeld, created by Larry David and Jerry Seinfeld. It starred the "voice of reason" Jerry Seinfeld and featured his friends, the eccentric cartoonlike neighbor Cosmo Kramer, the edgy and neurotic former girlfriend Elaine Benes, and the impulsive, petty, and neurotic best friend George Costanza. The series followed Seinfeld and his friends as they experienced and reacted to daily mundane conflicts and events.

One of the signatures of this series is its theme music, which was composed by Jonathan Wolff. The funky theme music starts off with a synth-bass riff, accompanied by beatboxing. Oh, and it was improvised too. I chose to sample this theme song for the beat battle.

Here's Johnathan Wolff sharing the origins of the iconic theme song.

And here's the Seinfeld theme.

In popular culture, the Seinfeld theme music has been intertwined with videos of meme culture -- usually played after an ironic or awkward situation.

Sort:  

Haha awesome @scuzzy one of my favorite shows from my youth 👍
"no soup for you!!!" hilarious episode

Haha yes, classic episode.

Whatttttttttttttt yesssssss.

This is such a fun, uptempo Seinfield inspired beat. Man I am going to want to hear this everytime I turn on Seinfield now :)

"No soup for you" hahahaha yesssss what a way to end it.

Love tyour post too. So professional and the formatting is incredible. And love the information you share with us.

Executed the theme so nicely with this entry and thank you for your continual involvement in the community. Really means a lot.

Hey I upvoted and followed, I am also a producer (Project 23) and musician. Track sounds tight by the way - it's really impressive!

Whats impressive is XXIII!!

Thanks! Means a lot, I spent too much time on that - considering it's a passion project lol

I will be releasing another track for The C Side tonight or tomorrow. The one I want to put up is a pretty rough copy but I have messed around with it so much that the project file needs a lot of work now lol

I will probably just upload the rough one.

Cool treatment! well done!

Just playing around with it. Nothing serious, like the show. Thanks!

That is a fun beat! Loved that show! Soup Nazi was nice ending!

That was exactly the intent -- to make a fun beat, like the show. Thanks for listening @simgirl!

Great choice, cool beat over the bass. I was also thinking about Seinfeld before I settled on Curb, that bass line is funky!

Thanks man. It was the other way around for me, because I've been watching Curb more recently. I only picked Seinfeld because I'm guessing more people know about it.

love the sounds you used bro, great work

I appreciate it @swurve!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59900.81
ETH 2561.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55