You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beach Wednesday - Hendry's Beach (from June 2016)

in #beachwednesday7 years ago

Oh cool! I've never surfed - I'm a bit scared, frankly. I had a bad experience with an undertow when I was a teen. But, I am always in awe of the surfers, and we even own a copy of the movie "My Eyes Won't Dry III" (surfing movie).

My daughter learned how to boogie board last year - and that was really fun for her, although there were a couple times when waves went over her head and scared her. Hoping she can do more boogie boarding this summer! She really liked it. Maybe she'll become a surfer!

Sort:  

I wish I had gotten into surfing earlier in life... didn't start boogie boarding until I was about 40. Consequently, by the time I started, my kids were at the age where what Dad was doing wasn't really cool, and so (sadly) they did not take it up.

And so, if you can encourage your daughter in the sport, I think it would be very good for her. Good, healthy exercise doing something very, very positive. Kids who surf love it, and have very little energy left over to get into trouble... ;)

And as for you! Don't give it up! Give surfing a shot!

I'm sorry to hear about your bad experience; the thing about undertows a.k.a. "rips" is that if you swim parallel to the beach for just a little distance, you're bound to get out of it and be able to move in. I should write a post about that! :)

Have you seen the "Sumo Surfer" inflatable surfing things? My son sent me a video about it months ago - not sure if they are out on the market yet - but they look awesome!
Here's a video:

'In Australia, just about everyone has had a near drowning experience' I was told recently.

But when it actually happens to you it can be VERY scary and enough to make you very cautious about going into anything remotely like a heavy surf ~ Especially in a non life-saving' zone.

I was also caught in a rip when I was 17. All the dramatics of being rescued could have been prevented if I'd known at that time to just swim parallel to the shoreline ~ And not against the surf as I was (unsuccessfully) trying to do.

Looking back now I wouldn't deny myself that experience for anything. Such an enriching experience that maybe I'll write about sometime too.

I feel it would be extremely beneficial for you to write about swimming parallel to the shoreline. 🙏🌀💧🌀🙏

Thank you for your very constructive comment!

I'll see what I can do about such an article! :)

Yeah - it could help people. Although I remember it completely catching me off-guard and feeling very panicked. I understand your not wanting to deny that experience (@allyinspirit) - it's almost like one of those Rites of Passage kinds of experiences - and really causes you to respect the ocean. I had a sailing experience that gave me a similar feeling. Much respect!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59934.86
ETH 2666.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45