Beach Wednesday - Borneo, Malaysia

My husband and I went on vacation to Kota Kinabalu in the Sabah state on the island of Borneo, Malaysia.

Everywhere on the beach tiny sand bubbler crabs make the most fascinating and intricate sand art. Small spheres of sand in all kinds of shapes around the holes they dig in the sand in search of food. The tiny crab filters the sand of all microscopic food and disposes of the waste in the form of a ball of sand.

The tiniest animals can sometimes make the most amazing art.

Photos taken with my Nokia Lumia 1020


If you enjoy my posts, please follow me @naomi.louise

Sort:  

Beautiful art provided by mother nature.

I agree. Especially from such a small creature and in such a short time as they only feed in wet sand.

Wow, if you walked through them would they pinch you?

The crab is about a centimeter across in size so I don't think a pinch could do much, but not something I'd like to try.

hope you've had a great time :)))

It was sooooo hot, but we had a blast!

Well that sand - art is pretty amazing I have to say.

Nice job, upvoted and followed :)
Why don't you check my last story about photos?
https://steemit.com/photography/@notonlyfood/most-famous-photographs-of-history I hope you will upvote it

That pattern they did is so cool! I would never guess it is a crab. Do you have a shot of the little beast? :)

Unfortunately not. They're fast and very shy it seems.

Love your photography it really says something about a beautiful place.

Thank you so much @bigbear. I like to change the perspective sometimes.

Amazing - I never saw something like this before!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33