Beach Wednesday and Color Challenge: Wednesday Yellow -- LICHEN

in #beachwednesday7 years ago

I dedicate this picture to @thinknzombie who shares my obsession with lichen, at least a little.

Lichen, on a beach? Yes, lichen growing on the remains of the German war bunkers on the beach at Kandestederne, which is the west coast of Denmark a bit south of Skagen.

yellowlichen1.JPG

Click image to view in higher quality. Use Browser Back to return.

This is a smaller crop of the same image so you can better see the texture.

yellowlichen2.JPG

Click image to view in higher quality. Use Browser Back to return.

Sony Hx400V
ISO 400
1/80 sec
f/4,0

It was very overcast and approaching sunset, so no way to hand hold with a lower ISO.

Sort:  

What an interesting shade of yellow. Mustardy. Like cornflakes. Very cool. I'd kind of like to see the bunkers too :)

I need to take more for you on a day with better light. Most of my shots have them silhouetted. I was obsessing with the golden hour lighting. I sent you one on Discord I had hoped to use for a Saturday Indigo but it didn't come out very well.

Beautiful. You’ve captured some amazing colors. The images are almost abstract. I could almost be convinced they were taken if the earth by satellite.

I didn’t know @thinknzombue was into lichen too. You will have a whole bunch of followers liking lichen before long!

A moss and lichen lover club would be awesome. When I go greyscale, I get some very awesome abstracts. Did you see my series or were you so busy with write club that you missed it? I did a whole series of lichen greyscales just by exploring one swath of woodland edging along the edge of our property.

Oh yes, I saw some of those. They are stunning! I do love black and white photography!

I love the sharp contrast of the yellow lichen on the gray. It’s so great how most times, nature doesn’t need any filters. Great photos!

Thank you @bex-dk! I love lichen (as you know). The texture and color here are so interesting. I could look at this all day.

Love your fungi and lichen photos! This one makes me want reach in and touch it. Looks so soft, like a velvet texturing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53