Beach Wednesday: PortmeirionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beachwednesday7 years ago

I'd like to share with you today a few of the pictures that I took of the beach at Portmeirion in the North of Wales. An unusual looking name, I know... the pronunciation is close to "porth-mary-on".

For those of you that have watched the surreal and iconic late-60's spy-fiction / SciFi TV show 'The Prisoner' (or just found themselves quoting "I'm not a number, I'm a free man") may know that the "the villiage" from the TV series is actually Portmeirion.

I highly recommend visiting Portmeirion if you're even in North Wales: it's a bizzare and spectacular place. Portmeirion is a tiny village (that operates soley as a tourest resourt) designed by one person ( Sir Bertram Clough Williams-Ellis): the buildings are colourful; very few of the buildings look the same, the architecture of some of the builldings is very impressive and the whole villiage looks completely out of place in the UK. The villiage is pristine and flowers / plants are seen throughout; adding yet more colour to an already vibrant place.

Since today is a Wednesday, Beach Wednesday, I will share with you some of the pictures of the beach / sea front that I took when I visited in July last year.

Enjoy!

IMG_20160722_202202.jpg

IMG_20160722_202717.jpg

IMG_20160722_202049.jpg

PANO_20160722_202117.jpg
[original photo taken by me on my OnePlusOne]


Thanks to @uwelang for introduced the concept of 'Beach Wednesday' to Steemit.


badges_footer_2.png
banner.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79