Beach Clubs & Beach Vibes

in #beachclub2 years ago

It's Thai new year! In Thailand we have a different calendar than in the west and our new year falls on the 13th of April every year and this year is 2565. Yes that's right we are like 500 years ahead of the rest of the world hahaha. Anyway our office is shut for 3 days along with every other business in the country and this is the time of year that people return to their home towns to spend time with family. For me it's time to take a little break from the pressures of work and spend some time by the beach. My BF and I have taken a little road trip to the next province up the coast from Phuket called Phang Nga. I always use these little trips and breaks from work to check out cool designs in other places and our first stop was at a well-known beach club in Nathai called Baba Beach.....

Khoalak trip 01.jpg

The interior of Babas is very cool. It follows this kind of retro Chinese style form the 40s and 50s that has become very popular in chic Bangkok bars and clubs. This kind of furniture style with loud red and green paint and black and gold trim. I do love it but am hesitant to use it in a residential project as I feel it's a little too commercial and I worry a client may see it in a bar in Bangkok and think ...WTF!

Khoalak trip 04.jpg

Khoalak trip 06.jpg

Khoalak trip 05.jpg

I think Babas is cool and they have done a great job on the design style of their bar and restaurant areas. My photos dont really do it justice so here is something I got from the internet....

Source: https://www.bababeachclub.com/

After a quick brunch and a cold corona beer at Babas we drove to Khao Lak. I must confess I wanted to check out a beach bar and restaurant that was designed by one of my main competitors on the island. I had heard about it for the last year or so and all positive so of course wanted to check it out myself. Its at The Aspara resort right on the beach and I have to admit he's done an awesome job. Its following that tried and tested beach club theme of bamboo, sand and sofas. The service, food and drinks were all great but I was more interested on how the spaces and were used and how the materials were used. He created a kind of floating lillypad idea made of bamboo on the roof which looks very cool! Also I loved the patterned ceiling that he had created using bamboo and rattan. Once again photos from internet are much better than mine so here is a good pic.....

Source: https://www.apsarakhaolak.com/dining/karkinos/

We chilled here for a few hours drinking cocktails and eating delicious mediterranean food.....

Khoalak trip 08.jpg

Khoalak trip 09.jpg

The bar is right on Memories Beach which is a popular spot for people to learn to surf. Surf culture is booming in Thailand these days and the beach was filled with tourists from Bangkok taking surf lessons. I was interested to watch but have no desire to learn to surf. My passion is golf but here a few photos from the beach.....

Khoalak trip 10.jpg

Khoalak trip 11.jpg

Khoalak trip 12.jpg

Khoalak trip 13.jpg

Now we have checked into a cool little hotel with bungalows right on the beach and my BF is complaining because I am writing this instead of heading to the bar with him hahaha. From Thailand I say happy new year to everyone and hope everyone is having a productive week! I'm enjoying my little break but back to work very soon.

Khoalak trip 14.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43