My Day at Rockaway Beach NYC - Yesterday

in #beach7 years ago (edited)


THE RAMONES - ROCKAWAY BEACH

I had the TIME OF MY LIFE at the beach yesterday here in NYC. NYC is positively the most fun place to live, I feel very lucky to have grown up here! Yesterday, me and my friend Gabriella, who lives in Rome, Italy went to Rockaway Beach. Here in NYC we have a new ferry system that has docks and stops all around Bronx, Manhattan, Brooklyn, Staten Island and Queens, the five boroughs. We met at Pier 11 in downtown Manhattan to catch the ferry to Rockaway Beach 108th St.

20819150_10155015352653163_6708732215706943447_o.jpg
Here we are on the ferry at the start of our adventure. That is the Brooklyn Bridge behind us.

The ferry is amazing. They are brand new, roomy and there is an upper deck where you can sit and be out in the open air. We sat in the bottom deck on the way there. They serve beer and snacks and I tried a Brooklyn Pilsner craft beer. It was sooo good.

I cannot begin to tell you how fun this day was. Mostly I'll let the pictures and videos do the talking. Here is a video of a man trying to take a picture of us. Hilarious :)


That is just silly ^^^^ LOL

The waves were fierce. Tried to capture some of it.

Then this happened

20900753_10155018098233163_3425326908824593732_o.jpg
Photo: Gabriella Testini

Everybody was terrified because the waves were out control...we had to move up the beach three times. People were like "I have lived here all my life and have never seen waves like this. We were worried a tidal wave was coming! I was literally hanging onto this pole to not get swept under into the sea! LOL.

I played some volleyball20907032_10213595509751433_121711425_o.jpg
Photo: Gabriella Testini

When we were getting ready to leave there was a live act playing music. They have live music every night all up and down in The Rockaways at all the outdoor pubs they have on the boardwalks.


Video: Gabriella Testini

I am thinking about going back tomorrow...I really want to. I wanted to post to Steemit at least twice a day but this is more important :) Let me know if you enjoy it.

biophoto.jpg

@soulsistashakti is a musical artist and writer based in NYC. You can check out my music on my FB artist page at https://www.facebook.com/soulsistashakti

Sort:  

Wow..looks like...you have great exeperience in your life with beach...it is enjoyble...but please be careful...beach is dangerous place..
Wel done my dear friend @soulsistashakti
I really like your post..
Smart work..
Happy steeming and keep it up post..
Cheees! .

You are welcome

it seems like you are enjoying your life to the fullest...i like the video and pics you have uploaded, your id name is somewhat very unique....

Overall its a nice post to row through steemit @soulsistashakti

Thanks a lot...steem on and stay blissful...

It was a fun day :)

Looks like you had a great day at Rock Rock, Rockaway Beach! Haven't been there in ages but nice to experience it via your adventure. Thanks for sharing!

Always my friend!

I love to watch big waves , there is something magic in it :) especially when you add some craft 🍺

HA! Love it :) xoxo

cute story. I went on the ferry to Staten Island and it was beautiful.

We have a whole brand new ferry system here now...this place is a real paradise it has everything :)

That's cool! I love it there, great vibe!

Great photo, watch out you don't get submerged! :)

I was trying :)

Hello my dear friend
I am following your account every day { 🤝 }
@haji

Yay :) I follow people that authentically engage with my content. If you are just looking for followers you are missing the point of Steemit.

Very good post.. I like it @soulsistashakti

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49