TRYING NOT TO GET WET, AND MY STUPIDITY WAS HUMBLING.....

in #beach6 years ago (edited)

20180416_092223~3.jpg

This morning I went to the beach to get some photos.
Ambishuously as per usual I climbed around the rocks at high tide for some wave explosions.
Some set waves, or larger waves rolled in as i climbed down the rock onto the sand waste deep in the water and quickly made my way to saftey into the cave.

20180416_084547.jpg
Now the waves are not big by any means, but do not be deceived, or mislead. The high tide with the combination of southerly swell surging has a lot of force, compared to the northly swell we have in summer.
So I spotted some sea gulls feeding on the seaweed that had been washed up on the rocks, and I thought this would make a great photo, all I have to do is climb the slippery rocks on the other side. Not a prpblem I thought I have done it hundreds of times before.

20180416_084139.jpg

So I thought I will wait between waves and work my way closer, ready for a break. Well a lot of the sand had washed out so I was waste deep.
Finally with my loyal camera phone (Galaxy S8) held high in the air I moved towards the cliffs edge and the wave was approaching quickly so out of the water I stabilized my footing on the slippery ledge and held on to a crevice with my left hand only 1 metre short of safety and I braced myself for the wave.

20180416_084124.jpg

Now I am on the left holding on to the rocks and this is a surge wave. Can you see that its higher towards where I am, well when this makes contact with the rocks it explodes.
This was similar to the wave that hit me but much smaller. When the wave hit it launched me into the air and then ripped me under water, I was totaly dragged under water with my phone still in my hand.
I freaked out but didn't panic, I'm use to these type of conditions because of surfing and snorkeling around the rocks.
It was my phone and steemit camera I was stressing about.
20180416_091825.jpg

So the million dollar question is how is my expensive camera phone.

well let's say stupidity was humbling today!!!
My phone is ok......so far.
Well I made it up to the rock after that but I was truly annoyed about my phone.
So to get back to the car I decided to climb up the cliff and mountain side.

20180416_085919.jpg

20180416_090108.jpg

20180416_090259~2.jpg

View from the top. Another adventure yeh.

Content and photos by Sanddrift...

Sort:  

Haha, great adventure you had there....not sure I would like to be waist deep in cold sea-water though holding my precious phone. 😬

Great photography.

Yeh I know. The water wasent too cold.

just amazing sea beach.your s8 mobile camera really fantastic.@sanddrift

Yeh it takes good shots. All my photos are with my s8.

Live and learn, eh? Hopefully the camera isn't damaged

Yes I know. I take this camera to some crazy places. I need to get water proof case. The phone is water resistant

Great water pictures, the first my favorite. Good work. What is the light in the last picture? Beautiful and strange :)

Sun rays. It looks unusual.

Yes very nice great capture :)

ohh my, ...such a breathtaking adventure post, I hold my breath upon reading it, you know that? haha...great photos loved it like always...glad that your phone is at good conditions still 😊

😱😲 Glad the phone was ok ... lol jk
Glad you are ok !! That was scary to read even though I knew you are fine considering you are posting this up but just reading it..... 😿 very scary.

But that view from up top is breath taking. Especially the last one. It looks like a search light looking for something. Or maybe it is a light shining onto a treasure chest!!!!

What a adventure and really good photos! Where in the world?

You've got so many fantastic shots in this post and they are all beautiful! It's been far too long since I have seen a beach.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28