Beach PlasticsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beach7 years ago

One thing I've really noticed on this beach trip is all of the plastic pieces washed up on the shore.

image

All along the high tide mark were colourful little pieces of plastic like those in the photo. They almost look like confetti, sprinkled along the sand.

In the past I've seen the usual rubbish washed up - things like still intact plastic bottles, chip packets, a single thong or shoe, lost fishing gear, and broken bits of foam floats. This is the first time I've seen such a noticeable amount of the little plastic pieces though.

I know it's a huge concern with regards to the health of our oceans. It's very confronting to view things like the UN's Plastic Ocean video and see just how much damage it's doing to the world's beaches and birdlife.

Plastic Ocean

Aside from the high tide line, the beach here is still almost pristine. I wonder for how much longer though?

image

It's been a little wake up call that has me thinking hard about my own family's plastic use and the impact that plastic has once we've disposed of it.

Sort:  

Hi @sammie,

Thanks for the post. I don't go to the beach that often so I don't really notice these things. We definitely need to do something to help keep the ocean and its creatures safe.

By the way, my name's Josh and I just joined @TeamAustralia a few weeks ago.

I wanted to drop by and say hello. I don't have many recent posts since finishing my exams a week ago, but I very much like to get to know everyone in our team.

Here is my first attempt to help make a difference, and promote #TeamAustralia, and Steemit, my Post: 10 Ideas How 'The Edge' Can Help A Steemian Start A Business and Promote The Steem Spirit

Nice to meet you on Steemit 🤙.

Peace ✌, Hope 🙏 & 💖 love!

Thanks Josh! I loved your post about The Edge. It's definitely one of the coolest parts of the State Library. I got to do a tour as part of my library studies and was blown away by what they offer.

Nice information thank you @hasan086

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62804.67
ETH 2444.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71