You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beach Trash - A Simple Challenge

in #beach6 years ago

When my mom and I went to California, we didn’t even go to the beach because with all the garbage lying around, there was no way to enjoy it. My guess is that it washes up. I’ve wondered why garbage isn’t simply just all burned in an incinerator? But I suppose there’s no simple solution.
It’s good to know there are efforts being made to clean the beaches up and people acting on those efforts!

Sort:  

I spent 6 years in the Navy and I believe most of the ships now have incinerators but in the past they did not. And once you are great than 50 miles from land in international water it all goes overboard. I say this because I wonder if vacation cruise ships and other cargo ships have the ability to burn the garage they make. If not they maybe a large source of ocean trash.

We have one incinerator near us that burns trash and makes electricity. They are getting large enough they are taking other cities trash so I think your idea will happen but probably at a slow rate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85