Death trap playground in Da Nang, Vietnam

in #beach10 months ago

On my therapeutic walks that I take on the beach or out and about other places in town I will run into some strange stuff here and there and on this particular day I ran into something that was a bit of a blast from the past.

I have spoken about how the level of safety that they have on the beaches here as far as the water is concerned that it irritates me. You can't really even get into the ocean here outside of small specific areas as Da Nang appears to want to have a "zero incident" policy as far as drownings are concerned even though this sort of things happens at beaches all around the world every day due to ignorance and stupidity of swimmers.

This is why I found this playground area to be so amusing because it just seems like a fantastic way to injure children.


image.png

I mean just look at that thing! As a child I would have done the stupidest crap on that and definitely would have fallen off of it. I can just see kids getting up to the top of it and then trying to go back down it face-first and then just completely busting their asses and snapping their necks.


image.png

I do like these rooster rocking horses though and I have fond memories of these as a kid because we would always rough house on them and see how much momentum we could get out of the spring on the bottom. The downside of this is that those metal springs are very strong and curious children could end up getting their hands crushed in them.

Don't get the wrong idea though, I am not suggesting that this shouldn't be here. I like that we have stuff like this because the world has become so sterile and "safe" to the point where no one is allowed to have fun anymore. When I see playgrounds in the western world these days they just look so boring because everything has to be built in a way that makes it impossible for anyone to ever get hurt.


image.png

This slide was a bit anti-climactic considering the relative danger levels of everything else on this playground.

This was a bit further down the beach than I normally walk so even though I have lived here for 6 years I have never seen it before


image.png

The weather wasn't really good yesterday so the beach was mostly abandoned and I kind of appreciate that from time to time. We are entering the time of year where it gets relatively cool here which I and most of the other sweaty foreigners appreciate but it isn't that great for tourism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62596.54
ETH 2433.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65