Basic Attention Token (BAT) and its significance

in #bat3 years ago (edited)

Good Afternoon! Today I would like to write about Basic Attention Token (BAT) and the significance it has within the business world and crypto-verse.

My "attention" was on BAT a couple of years ago actually.

---Disclaimer: I am not giving investment advice, I am only making you aware of the recent news of this cryptocurrency so you can better understand the coin, technology, and the overall effect cryptocurrencies are currently having in the world we live in.---

STORY MODE:
In my sophomore year at the University of Louisville, I was enrolled in an Entrepreneurial Finance class. I loved the class. I enjoyed Professor Garrett's attitude toward teaching and the entrepreneurial spirit.
In the beginning parts of the semester, we created groups in which a semester-long project would commence and we would present our entrepreneurial idea to the class. I had a fellow friend in the class can we conducted a group of five. I can only remember two of my group members, only because they are hard to forget, Alex Godfrey and Elshadai Smith-Mensah.

I digress, anyway, this group followed Alex's idea of creating a web-based platform in which was a third party (our project) for advertisers and product promoters to help find each other. While this project was underway, I was Public Relations Director for the Blockchain Club at the University of Louisville. I was following the cryptocurrencies on Coinbase to create presentations for the club. The newest addition to Coinbase was the Basic Attention Token. The two projects had a similar end goal.

BAT DISCUSSION:
"The Basic Attention Token (BAT) is the new token for the digital advertising industry. It pays publishers for their content and users for their attention while providing advertisers with more in return for their ads." (basicattentiontoken.org)
If you do not have the Brave browser downloaded to your computer or laptop, go ahead and download it!
I had downloaded it my sophomore year and it was nice to show that I was using a blockchain platform and not just talking the talk.

Question: "This sounds all dandy and delightful, but how does it work?"
My Answer: Imagine you open the Brave browser, and you had the option to view, or not view ads. For the sake of the example, we will allow ads. Brave then starts to keep track of the amount of time spent on certain websites. Each month you are rewarded with BAT for allowing the advertisers to promote their marketing to you. The BAT is sent to your Brave wallet. Once you have been rewarded your BAT you can withdraw the funds or tip advertisers. You are being paid to watch advertisements!

If you do not want ads, then you simply change your ad status to off and no advertisements will appear before you. Blockers are placed with the Brave browser to ensure this (The no ad life is peaceful).

Question: "Should I invest in Basic Attention Token?"
My Answer: Look at the entirety of the internet for a moment. It's hard to even grasp the wide reach the internet has. Basic Attention Token helps out the common users by allowing the option of ads and helps out advertisers by providing users that are accepting of advertisements and are more inclined to indulge in the company’s marketability of their service or product.

Also, the Brave browser was created by Brenden Eich, the former CEO of Mozilla. With former CEOs looking to the blockchain field with new and interesting ways to conduct blockchain technology.
The value of an individual BAT will be parallel with the normality of Brave browser users and the significance of the advertisements being viewed by users.

I have seen the cryptocurrency has a high $1.38 (Yesterday 4/7/2021 at 2:00 AM EST) and as low as $0.11 when I had originally started watching the cryptocurrency in 2018. It is difficult to conclude that the rise of BAT is due to the Brave browser’s usability or the Bitcoin bull market as an industry-moving action.
Many cryptocurrencies have seen All-Time Highs recently, so I would conclude it has more parallels to the cryptocurrency bull market than individual success.

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61291.28
ETH 2671.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52