My basketball journey

in #basketball6 years ago

Grade school days

I first started playing basketball when i was 6yrs old hitting shots just infront of the rim , I tried to join our school varsity team but others doubt that I was too young to join them, most of them were already in 6th grade compared to my age so I stopped my training and do ballet instead.

Though I'm not in the varsity team I didn't stop playing ball. While playing in the street with my brother and friends, we believed that one day were gonna bring home a title into our village. Then came the time I was 4th grade and I tried joining the varsity team again, luckily, I was selected by the coach to join. That year is a roster, but I thought I was going to be a starter but im wrong, I was benched all throughout that season they only use me at the last period of time when the game is going to end. Despite that, I'm still thankful even I'm just a benchplayer. I'm happy that I still got an experience to remember.

When i reached 5thgrade moving into another school ,sadly there was a varsity team but they only picked 6th graders so all throughout that year after classroom lectures, I just played in the gym of our village dreaming and believing that one day I'll become a professional basketball player.

After that year my Mom decided that I move to her school, and finally there's a varsity team there so I tried out for the team and gracefully I was in but not only in I was selected to be the captain ball of that team. Then our preseason came, I was nervous like any basketball player would've felt but it didn't got my way. I still played despite of my nervousness and fear, I just prayed to God to guide me, and with that, we finished second place in that district tournament and I was selected by the champion team to play for them and represent our district to play in the division level. Sadly, we only came out being 3rd place.

27497426_564332023918770_1426527566_n.jpg
(that's me with my brother @ljhaytorres holding our trophy)

After some time, I received a news from our coach that I was selected to represent our city to compete with other cities, but suddenly, the worst came and I was diagnosed with dengue and can't play for the NCR palaro.

...high school days

High school basketball is the next level compared to grade school basketball cause you get to compete with seniors and I'm just a small 7th Grader. It takes a lot more physical qualifications than in Grade school. In my 7th and 8th year, gracefully I was part of our varsity team, but I'm just a sixthman averaging only 5.4ppg 3.2 apg 1.3rpg and that's very low compared to other top players. So in my sophomore year, I transferred to another school, and again I am qualified and I got the stats of 13.4ppg 5.6apg and 6.1rpg. For me, I was amazed cause in someway my game gad just improved.

Suddenly, in our first tune up game I accidentally broke my left clavicle and was advised by the doctor to rest my basketball career for a year. I thought that it was the end of my career but I was inspired by some players in the NBA who almost lost their career because of having injuries while playing basketball, but after recovering they never stop playing. So I still go back playing basketball and improving myself to become a better player. I told myself that this injury won't stop me from playing basketball and improving my game, so, all along that summer season I kept practicing . After I fully recovered, I joined an open league in our barangay. I showed my all in that league and I was averaging 25ppg 10apg 7rpg. After that, our barangay had a tryout for representing their team and I was selected and we finished 3rd place all in all.

So I'm glad that I reached that far despite of my injury and that in everything nothing always comes easy , you need to work hard on it. Now I'm in the 9th grade and our school sportsfest had just ended and we are overall champions and I was the MVP and i dropped a 40pt game. And im hoping that in my senior year I'd go to a University and play there for my college also.

27658473_564669760551663_76884680_n.jpg
(these are my other trophies and medals for playing basketball)

Throughout my basketball journey, there are many challenges, hindrances, rejections and failures, all these things are trying to get me down but I never stop believing that a day will come that I will be able to prove the people around me that I can play the sport that I love the most. Just remember that you need to love your passion and always grab opportunities and most of all, with the help of God you will succeed.

I hope I was able to inspire other basketball players with my journey. Thank you for reading and God bless us all.

Sort:  

So happy reading this. Don't stop reaching for your dreams! I'm glad that your family supports your passion. :)

Thank youu😊

I am so proud of you Albert. Your story motivates me to never stop fighting even though there are challenges in life. We may have different journey's but we still have one goal, it's to never ever let those challenges drag us down. :) Always remember that in every game you play I am always here supporting you all the way. Ate loves you so much. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66436.09
ETH 3439.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65