Some NBA shake ups

in #basketball7 years ago

The NBA will see some minor changes this upcoming season...
timeout.jpg
Source-http://sports-law.blogspot.co.za/2006/05/could-nba-ban-timeouts.html

Timeouts

The NBA has changed the rules regarding timeouts in a game for the upcoming season. The total amount of timeouts in a regulation game will be lowered from 18 to 14 and instead of each team being allowed to call 3 timeouts in the last 2 minutes, teams will be limited to 2 timeouts in the last 3 minutes. This is all in an attempt to speed up the game and make the final minutes more entertaining. Personally, I think this is a great move as in recent years the final minute of games seemed to have the players more on the bench than the actual court.

Trade deadline

The NBA plans to move the 2018 trade deadline. The 2017 deadline was 4 days after the All-Star Weekend whereas, this year will see the trade deadline moved to 10 days before the All-Star weekend. The NBA season is also set to start about a week earlier this year than what it did last year as the league is trying to allow for more flexibility in game scheduling.

Knicks desperatley trying to move Melo

920x920.jpg
Source-http://www.chron.com/sports/rockets/article/Carmelo-Anthony-gets-Photoshopped-into-Houston-11280124.php

The latest reports on the Carmelo Anthony situation is that it may take up to a four team trade with the hold up being around Housten Forward Ryan Anderson. Many in the NBA realm seem confident that Carmel will start next season in a Rockets uniform.

Sort:  

I think I'm one of the few that is not a fan of the timeout change. Maybe less for the whole game is good, but I think having 3 in the last two minutes is very important. It's the difference in winning or losing in many cases, and for me, I don't mind if the last 2 minutes take 20 minutes. That's the most exciting part of the whole game and the longer it takes the more it adds to the suspense. Also being someone that has played lots of basketball I think that it's more important that coaches and players have the timeouts to plan, than it is there's less time so it's more convenient for the fans.

I understand your point but I just think that these guys are supposed to be superstar athletes playing the game of basketball, but they sit down for the final few minutes strategising instead of actually just balling in out! I also think it just interrupts the rhythm of the game.

I like both rule changes tbh. Having less timeouts will decrease the amount of stoppage time especially when the game is close with less than 5 minutes to go. In addition, it will increase the amount of trust coaches will need to have in their players to lead and take charge! Maybe now, people will truly appreciate the leadership of certain players (like Lebron) who have high enough IQs to establish a quality last second play.

Agreed it should always be about the players in my opinion!!!!

Interesting stuff from Silver and the big boys. I don't mind the timeout changes, but I think the trade deadline and season start time are excellent ideas. More and more the league is trying to tackle the back-to-back issues, and especially because more players are DNP-Rest(ing).

I think that Melo can improve any team he's on, but not if the team receiving him give up 2 or more solid assets. If Houston has to give up Ariza, Gordon, and Anderson (that was a proposed package) I think that it doesn't really improve the squad. Now, if its Anderson and some other small assets like a draft pick...then that'd be great. I'm interested to see what happens.

Until the trade is official, I'm not ruling out a buyout where Carmelo leaves a lot of money on the table...but maybe that's​ just the optimistic Cavs fan in me talking ;)

Well, I think if the Knicks can't complete a trade they gonna have to buy him out. At this point, neither party wants anything to do with each other so I think Melo will be moved even if a trade doesn't happen! I like the timeout rule personally because the last few minutes the players should be playing not strategising with the coach!

Yeah, I think you're exactly right. No matter what happens he won't be in New York next season.

Yeah, I really like Silver for his willingness to analyze the NBA as a whole and make changes that benefit the fan experience.

Nice post... good rule change for the timeouts at the end of a game. It always feels like the last two minutes last like 15 minutes! Excited to see it instituted and to see who the Knicks will get in the pull for Melo (I'm a Knicks fan -_-)

I don t like these changes...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61095.28
ETH 2922.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65