Sort:  

That is the reason I was drawn to it while it was still Grantcoin.

Ultimately, I believe that cryptocurrency will be the basic income for many people.

Cryptocurrency is going to provide the income many people need in my opinion.

Yes, I certainly think it’s possible. When I started hearing about the concept of UBI, I thought it was the definition of insanity. Here in Canada, we already pay about half of what we make into taxes to begin with. How in the world would taxing for UBI work? All of a sudden, it looks like crypto and blockchain may be able to actually deliver UBI without having to tax (steal) it away from people.

I cant speak for Canada but here in the US, the support infrastructure wastes so much money. Also, when you factor in the indirect cost like healthcare (dont forget poor people tend not to be covered in the US so they use the Emergency Rooms as their drs), incarceration, and drug abuse (both illegal and prescribed), it all adds up.

My problem is dependence upon the government is a dangerous thing and subject to political whims. Plus, I feel that government is cooked just like the banksters....give it another decade, and blockchain will make government scaled back.

Yes, I agree with almost everything you say here on Steemit, taskmaster.

Here in Canada, our healthcare system sucks up an obscene amount of a wealth of our country. I think it comes up to around 20-30% of our wealth. It’s completely inefficient. Scary thing, is that most Canadians are asleep at the wheel and think our health care system is good because we don’t have to pay for services. You should see just how long our wait lists are for routine surgery. My wife had to wait 11 months for gall bladder surgery last year.

What do you guys think the advent of automations like robots and AI can do for demands of human labor?
I feel humanity should subsidize manufacturing automasitons and beneficial AIs, and we should all benefit from common works.

Taskmaster is far more qualified to answer that question than I am, but I personally have a hard time believing corporations that have deeper pockets than any government would ever allow the benefits from automation to ever be spread out to the public. They always privatize profits! No reason to think automation would change that!

I agree with that, until we reach a tipping point where there will be such disparity, and 99.9% will be owned by just a few people, then a revolution may occur that puts the factors of production into mutual ownership.

It is too bad we can't focus humanity's #intellect on #creativity and problem-solving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57912.63
ETH 2348.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37