You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Water Room Analogy - Understanding the Logic of Full Universality

in #basicincome7 years ago (edited)

Have you seen the Grantcoin Manna concept (short post with a couple of links - https://steemit.com/basicincome/@revo/grantcoin-universal-basic-income)? They are implementing a UBI via cryptocoin. I'm keen to follow along with this one and see how it goes (i'll eventually sign up to it myself, I guess). I can't help thinking that the consensus/popular view of economics and monetary systems is arse-about. This idea that money flows from economic activity, when it is actually money in the first place that defines economic activity. It's actually a self-perpetuating system, as far as I can see. Yet this is one of the criticisms people make of cryptocurrencies. It seems to me that what Grantcoin is doing (literally creating money to meet a need) is no different to how regular fiat money systems work. And a Grantcoin-like system seems to me to be less potentially ponzi-ish than the regular monetary system, because it doesn't generate ever growing debt in its production. The regular monetary system we run now can never repay world debt (without governments either cancelling it, or just printing an amount of money equal to that debt and then repaying it), as the interest charges on debt mean that more money needs to be created to meet the debt obligations.

(edit: sorry, I see now your post mentions Grantcoin)

Sort:  

Hey, when you're ready to sign up you are welcome to use my referral link! :)

Cheers, I'll do that. I just want to look into it a bit more. I'm new to steemit and cryptocurrency, so I'm still trying to get my head around it all. I'm traditionally a strong privacy advocate and don't like spreading my details all over the internet. So this idea of a permanent blockchain record of everything I do and post sits a bit uneasy with me. It's going to be a matter of whether I value what Grantcoin potentially provides (to me, and society) vs having to post my phone number and picture and whatnot for the whole world to see. Having said that, my picture is already on my profile here (but I don't know enough about how all this works to know if that means it's on the blockchain or just within steemit.com).

Yeah, there is a lot to learn. I just started getting into it all about a year ago. But I just started steemit this week. I would recommend the cryptoverse podcast for learning more about cryptocurrency. It has been really helpful. https://www.cryptoversity.com/podcast/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48