You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why The Banksters Fear Basic Income!!!

in #basicincome6 years ago

Hmnnn.... interesting article. Interesting theory. I'd like to see the theory tested in a live population. But that probably won't happen. Or has it already? Having worked with what we might call "the lower classes" for a few decades I can assure you that most of these folks who make a career out of milking the government system for money have no intention or desire to develop skills and talents or a spiritual life. However, I think the day of a basic wage or annual income will be here soon simply because so many people will be displaced by bots.

As far as the "dignity" issue, I think there is another root to investigate, namely since humanities earliest days when we were living in small clans, larger extended family groups, villages, etc., it was essential that all community members worked, had a niche, had a means to provide for oneself and by so doing advanced the strength and survivability of the group. Your value to the clan or community depended upon the nature of the service, work, or trade you brought to the community. People who offered nothing, who did not work, who did not contribute had very little value and very little sense of self respect or pride and were often given the boot, so to speak. Throughout the ages if one did not work one died. Simple as that. And this was standard issue long before banksters showed up. If a man was a blacksmith, for instance, one Did have a sense of pride and value, and if fortunate was able to hand that down to a son.

There is a greater issue here, one that might actually be aided by a universal income, namely the endemic need for humans to have a sense of purpose and meaning. Perhaps, as you suggest, people will have, and take the opportunity to develop interests and talents and spiritual practice. I know I would. But like I mentioned above, many have no desire for any self-improvement. The motivation (survival) frankly is gone.

But lets run a little test. What would happen if everyone now on Steemit were to receive a basic income sufficient enough so that they could live off of it in "real life". I'm betting that the entire system would collapse in a matter of days. Can you imagine a newbie or minnow continuing to work for pennies? One good thing would occur though: spam would disappear.

Anyway, appreciate your post. This is an issue we must face and discuss sooner than later. You're open to consider other opinions in the search for the best path possible, aren't you?

Sort:  

But lets run a little test. What would happen if everyone now on Steemit were to receive a basic income sufficient enough so that they could live off of it in "real life". I'm betting that the entire system would collapse in a matter of days. Can you imagine a newbie or minnow continuing to work for pennies? One good thing would occur though: spam would disappear.

Do you think it would collapse? You are probably correct with the present marketing of people espousing the idea of posting and earning $100 a day (a post I just read). However, if we truly did drive home the idea of decentalization, would the same thing result. Plus, if those who are on here part time suddenly didnt have to toil all day long just to make the rent, would they spend more time? Naturally we cant answer this but I can saw, for me, I would be on here more if that were the case...and I have read some who claimed the same thing.

Basic income isnt making people rich. It is about providing choices. Are there with a sense of entitlement who milk the system among the poor? Of course. Yet I can make the case that there are rich who have that same sense of entitlement...they just take bigger numbers from the government.

Basic income, to me, isnt so much about the money as the choice of how to use one's time....that is something that is decided for most. Monday morning, 9 AM guess where they are?

Human nature!! There will always be the slug baits out there who don't want to do anything no matter what. But I do love the idea that you shared: "It is about providing choices". Indeed , I dearly wish I had a basic income so I could grow my presence here. In fact, I've had a few months off due to illness, but have to go back to work in just a few days. Out of money. But human nature what it is, I do think that if an income sufficient to live off of were offered to the public that the next day there would be massive chaos
for most people would not be going back to work and that includes Steemit. For me a stipend would be very welcome. Anyway, I am delighted to see you are willing to discuss things and seek to know and understand rather than just being locked into a position no matter what.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56111.00
ETH 2371.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31