You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In the 21st Century, All Roads Appear to Be Leading to Unconditional Basic Income (UBI)

in #basicincome6 years ago

Hi @scottsantens. I'm really new here, but am very happy that I happened upon your post. I've taken a look at your blog and I love the subject matter that I saw. If I'm being totally honest, a lot of the content that I'm seeing on Steemit hasn't blown me away, but I like your focus.

Anyways, regarding this post, I'm wondering what your thoughts are on how UBI would shift the dynamic of income inequality? It seems to me that we'd still have an extremely rich class that would spare the expenses related to dealing with unhappy employees by replacing people (where possible) with automation, and appease the poor class by providing them with a modest amount of money, with which they'd be able to afford a minimal lifestyle. Sure, the poor class would have a degree of "freedom" to decide how to spend their meager amount of UBI cash, but it seems like societal inequities between ultra-rich and poor people would still exist.

Don't get me wrong, I'm intrigued by the idea of UBI, but I feel that for real good to be done, the amount of money given to people would need to be substantial enough that it would lead to an equalization of wealth between members of society.

In any case, as I mentioned, interesting read. Thanks!

Followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88