You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Universal Basic Income is our future, at least according to Mark Zuckerberg

in #basicincome7 years ago

Traditional jobs are likely going to decline with more automation. Other non-traditional jobs though very well could replace them. For example... what you and I are doing right now talking Steemit. I made more on steemit this year without going FULL throttle (though I've been very active) than I have many other years of my life. I made possibly close to half what I made in my paying job. So this has potential, and it is not the only INFORMATION/INTERNET space opportunity that is likely to rise.

Many traditional jobs may go away. They may also come back. A lot of it actually depends on the market.

Sort:  

Steemit is much like anything else though, where a few make money. It could be a full-time job for some, but it's not going to employ the masses. Also, if Steemit is incredibly popular it's going to cannibalize other social platforms.

I don't really see Steemit providing a mass of net jobs to the workforce. I do, however, see blockchain solutions contributing more to the sharing economy though. And that can have more of an equalizing effect on the flow of money, at least temporarily. But, like with anything, there always tends to be those that rise to the top 1% and then everyone else making little. You can already see this with mining in BTC.

I don't disagree with your assessment here. I just don't think it's going to provide enough to offset the losses.

I agree... I was just using it as an example of how historically new never before seen opportunities tend to replace those that were lost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42