You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unconditional Basic Income as Paid Family Leave

I can't help but have the following train of thought....

  1. 92% of Congress is Christian.
  2. The desire of some men in Congress to keep women entirely dependent upon men seems apparent in their refusal to acknowledge the work that women do as parents.
  3. There is also an apparent desire to punish women who seek independence from the father, even when the father was abusive. I've seen quotes by members of Congress that seem to support my statement here.
  4. This desire to keep women dependent on men seems consistent with Christian beliefs expressed by some members of Congress.

It would appear then, that some Christians in Congress have some notable and unsupported beliefs about the role of women in a capitalist society.

I know I'm going out on a limb here, but suffice it to say, if free market proponents truly want to live in a civilized society, the creation of that society starts in the home. Supporting the otherwise unpaid caregiver is one way to do that. If life is a fight over a sandwich for the mother, then don't expect to see very civilized people going forth and multiplying.

I note also studies I've seen to show that men who are fathers tend to be paid less than men with no families because they are wiling to work for less. A man with a family is not willing to risk losing income over a fight for higher wages when he has a job.

It would seem to me then, that even men who support a mother and kids is getting shortchanged because he is not willing to entertain the risks that a worker without a family would face in the quest for a a raise.

A universal basic income would help to even the playing field for parents with kids, single parents with kids, and even a single earner family. A universal basic income would help to quell much of the unrest in America when 75% of Americans live paycheck to paycheck.

Sort:  

I do not believe that the majority of people who claim to be Christians actually are. Nowhere in the teachings of Jesus does he tell us that women are chattels. Nowhere does he say that men should decide what happens to women's bodies.

For example, I do not think that, under many circumstances, abortions are proper. I support my belief by promising never to have one.

Of course, there would be far fewer abortions if "Christian" men were not hell bent on making it extremely difficult for women not to get pregnant in the first place.

Let's see just what these so called Christians want for our women:

  1. No birth control, so they are constantly pregnant.
  2. No abortions, so they are constantly having babies.
  3. No money to raise all these babies.
  4. A slap upside the head at best if they don't jump to it to get their "man" and his buddies a beer and more chips during the game.
    5 etc.) I could go on and on, but I think this is enough rant for now. Sorry, couldn't help it.

Oh, I nearly forgot the arsehole who said, with a straight face, that if it's truly rape a woman cannot get pregnant. I guess the egg magically knows the difference.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.
Catweasel

Just as they say to beware of false prophets, so too do we need to beware of false Christians. I agree with you on all points. Well said.

On another tangent, I have written about how odd it is that Martin Luther King arrived at such a different conclusion as so many racist Christians have with regard to the supposed supremacy of whites. As you say, racists must not be truly Christian, for I doubt Christ said anything about the color of skin with regard to whom shall be saved (I'm not a Christian and have never read the Bible all the way through but I'll take it on King's word that he's right).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50