You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Moral Question of Using Unconditional Basic Income to Refuse Employment

in #basicincome7 years ago

I have absolutely no qualms whatsoever about universal basic income replacing work. If I had a way of achieving an alternate income equal to what I make now as a corporate slave, I would quit my job tomorrow and take great delight in doing so. I am in fact actively working toward realizing such a scenario.

My job is interesting, challenging, and mentally stimulating. But I have to get up at the crack of dawn, get home very late so I don't see my family that long before bed, and I spend all day toiling away to essentially line the pockets of the rich with even more money.

Freed from having to do that, I could find my own way to make useful contributions to society, at my own pace, doing whatever strikes my fancy and makes me happy. Lining my own pockets and improving my quality of life instead of the fat cats at the top of the corporate hierarchy.

So yeah, I'll be the biggest cheerleader of universal basic income that there ever was. VIVA la revolucion!

Sort:  

I am actually in the same boat as you, with an interesting and well-paid job that. If I did have an alternate income, I am not even sure if I would quit, but I would love to have the option.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44