You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Question of Universal Basic Income and Drug Abuse

in #basicincome7 years ago

This article covers two of my major socio-political concerns.

What you call universal basic income I have always called negative income tax. It seems to me that the taxation system is well equipped to ensure that everyone has at least a livable income. Somewhere between the poverty level and the basic tax deductible income might work.

I had not put together the connection between poverty and drug addiction, but now I see it. Decriminalising will work with basic income to reduce the problem greatly.

Sort:  

Yeah, NIT and UBI are two ways of going about the same thing. And I agree, legalization of drugs would go a long way alongside UBI to reduce the damage being done to people!

I wonder how many people have died from opiates who would have preferred marijuana if legal and regulated like alcohol?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35