You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Negative Income Tax (NIT) and Unconditional Basic Income (UBI): What makes them the same and what makes them different?

in #basicincome7 years ago

I spoke with you briefly when you introduced yourself, and I have followed you ever since. Prior to that I always believed fervently in NIT, not having heard of UBI. After you introduced me to UBI I felt that in the main, NIT and UBI are the same thing.

By and large I was right, but I see from this article that what is important is the few differences. Most important is the psychological difference. Americans, in particular, do not like taxes but everyone likes income.

If NIT is the only option then we must take it and hope it works. If UBI is on offer it wins.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50