You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stop Teaching Students WHAT to Think. Teach Them HOW to Think.

in #basicincome7 years ago

This is a great article about an important subject.
There are countries in the world that do have different teaching styles and students that have only 4 hours of school and no homework at all. And these countries are doing a pretty good job for their students.
Alas, in North America we are failing our students.
My brother was a teacher and a principal most of his life and I remember him saying that education is basically babysitting.
Students today are very graphically oriented and many are quite good artists because of this, thanks to TV and video games. However, when it comes to the English language they are complete failures. I have read many articles from a lot of news services that are riddled with spelling errors. I happen to love the English language. It is a powerful way of expressing ourselves because we have so many words to use.
Back in the 50's and 60's when I went to school teachers didn't know about ADD (I have ADD and I am slightly autistic) My teachers just thought I was stupid! But I went back to school when I was 50 and got my degree in programming because I wasn't ever going to be put into a box and wear a label all my life!
I believe we are teaching kids the wrong subjects. Yes, some students are gifted but 80% of them are just average (pareto's law).
Many people today are academically smart, but don't have a lick of common sense!
I could go on but I think you understand. We need a shift in our education system.

Thanks for a great article!

.....upvoted and resteemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22