You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Houses cost TOO GOD DAMN MUCH!!!

in #basic-income8 years ago

Yeah, I have. It is interesting and an admirable venture. I'm up in Canada land and property cost itself is prohibitive. I wasn't going to say initially but I've been considering just buying a giant barge and building it up by retrofitting a bunch of freight containers (They are super cheap and plentiful because it's easier to manufacture new ones in china than ship them back). Dock fees are usually cheaper than property taxes depending on where you are anyhow (Especially in big cities). As far as tiny houses are concern you still need to work out utilities or be comfortable going off grid.

I might be bias, but It's my opinion that I shouldn't have to work 20 years for something I could build myself in at most 3.

Sort:  

I completely agree, land costs and building costs are ridiculous and your idea of a barge is actually workable. There are a surprising number of people in the USA that live on the water. :D

May you have great success in your ventures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57174.31
ETH 3071.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40