Baseball Cards, Prospect Watch - Mickey Moniak, Phillies OF

in #baseballcards7 years ago

Hey, Mickey!

Mickey Moniak was drafted as an 18-year old in 2016 by the Philadelphia Phillies. This is the organization remembered for players like the great Mike Jack Schmidt. They've developed great players (note: Chase Utley, Ryan Howard) but in the recent years stunk it up by drafting mid-rotation guys like Aaron Nola. So where does Mickey Moniak fit in?

As a young, developing outfielder, having a plus-power development is a good thing. He's gonna be a great hitter, regardless of where he stands defensively (pretty damn good). He's currently noted as the second best prospect in the Phillies farm system behind J.P. Crawford, but that's really debatable. J.P. has been in the minors for about 4 years now, and while he has been ranking in the top of the prospect lists for a few years now, has yet to show that she can be a talent like the Dodger's Corey Seager, who plays the same position and is prime to be a superstar for years to come. Mickey can be a starting everyday outfielder, and his power might land him in the middle of the order, prime position to gain RBI's.

That's why I can't understand the reason why his baseball cards aren't carrying much value. Sure, they're still pretty expensive, considering his base Bowman Chrome autographs are selling for $70 or so, but when he was drafted I thought he'd at least have enough hype around him to make his cards jump to untouchable levels ala Mike Trout.

Well, when all things are considered, I guess it's a good thing for me. I sold my ETH when it hit $414, so I have some cash laying around, and I think I'm going to spend some money acquiring his rookie autographs and stashing them away for when they go from $50 to $500. I think it's a possibility.

Edit: WOW. He's been on a tear recently! This card is definitely going to get a bump, invest now!

Want to join me in my baseball card investment? This is the card you want.

Go Mickey!


Help ME Fund My Collection!

Bitcoin: 1FkMAYucKn2ojLdYcA4uDvh8jZoXxnL8pS

Ethereum: 0xf36Cc36ce2978925df8aCe61F105ddc9952A590A

Litecoin: LWrSb6EkaN78dz4D9pShufpMrLnapW7Lv5

Thank you!

Sort:  

Completely agree...love Moniak. The guy can just flat out hit. Really like his smooth lefty swing. I don't know how he's still ranked behind Crawford either. I don't see him as a top prospect like most other people do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57658.56
ETH 2273.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46