Minor League Baseball's new pace of play rules someday could reach the majors

in #baseball6 years ago

The average length of a MLB game last year was 3 hours and 5 minutes. Some changes are being implemented in the minor leagues and someday could reach the majors.

I am most interested in the Extra Innings Rule - I personally like it. I know baseball purists will not.

On a side note, I think it would be cool if the NFL adopted the college OT rules.

The below paragraph was taken from the article in which I have attached the link below:

"Extra Innings
At all levels of Minor League Baseball, extra innings will begin with a runner on second base. The runner at second base will be the player in the batting order position previous to the leadoff batter of the inning (or a substitute for that player). By way of example, if the number five hitter in the batting order is due to lead off the 10th inning, the number four player in the batting order (or a pinch-runner for such player) shall begin the inning on second base. Any runner or batter removed from the game for a substitute shall be ineligible to return to the game, as is the case in all circumstances under the Official Baseball Rules."

The rest of the change of pace rules can be seen by clicking this link.

https://www.cbssports.com/mlb/news/minor-league-baseballs-new-pace-of-play-rules-someday-could-reach-the-majors/

Sort:  

After 12 innings I’m usually done drinking beer in the stands. Sometimes I don’t even care if there’s players on the field. I would really like this role to make the game a little bit faster!

I totally agree!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87