Downtown waiters race - @runridefly the Starbucks barista loses 5 years straight. Funny video & No VictorysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #barista8 years ago (edited)

So I guess it's time to let the steemit community know that @runridefly works for Starbucks as a part-time barista. I've been making frappuccinos, shaken iced teas, lattes and iced coffees for over 5 years now. It's why I like @levycore latte art so much.

I don't want to get into the history of how it all took place but I was asked to apply by the manager because of my awesome attitude. That was really what the manager told me when I was a customer. The mother of my babies works at the same store, and it was because of her, that I visited the store for my daily coffee or americanos.

Something about my personality and my personal appearance has given me somewhat a local celebrity status around town. I'm an older short bald man that throws the shaken teas into the air and always makes the best drinks possible. Anywhere I go in town, I get, "you're the Starbucks Guy!"


Picture of my co-workers before the race begins

So every year for the last 5 years, I've been trying to win the annual downtown waiters race just two short blocks from where I make dreams come true with your favorite coffee or tea beverage. The biggest burden in my life is not making it into the final every year. Last year, I was just a few steps from the final and I was a about four strides from the final this year and I dropped my tray.

photograph of my sons and @runridefly


(

)
Source
A local dj who is the voice of the waiters race is a customer and most of downtown knows the Starbuck's guy and his babies.


(

)
Source
@runridefly trying to desperately hold on and catch the young man ahead of him.


One thing is certain, I'm not going to give up in this race until I make it to the final. I will be 45 next year and the average age of the waiters in this race are half my age. I will not give up and I will train this year and I will win it. I will be the oldest waiter to ever win this competitive race.

Thank you for reading my post and watching my videos

Sort:  

Old. Not obsolete. :-)

@ace108, I appreciate that.

and I'm actually older. :-)

Your enthusiasm and conviction is infectious! I've no doubt you'll reach the final next year.

@benjojo, I sure hope so. I'm actually going into training for this. I've been extremely athletic for years, but I'm out of shape, and all these young men have natural energy and speed. I'm blaming my age and my young sons.

@benjojo, I took a nap and when I saw your comment, I immediately saw ned and dan the pugs in the sand. That is the funniest meme ever. I laugh cried with the minnows......unite, because it's sadly true! One day, I hope to be able to pee-pee on my own. Your support means a lot.

SPORT IS GOOOOOOD !!!
Any kind of sports !
=]

@insteadofmoney, so true. I love competition. Thank you for the upvote and the comment. Funny, but first thing I do is tap your name to find your latest post. I'm all about supporting minnows.

Awesome @runridefly! You're a real asset to the community man...Your attitude and support keep a lot of people here inspired...Keep it up! :)

@steemit-life, thank you for the kind words. Your art is the some of the best I've ever seen. It wakes me up and brightens my day. Steem On Dude!

Go man go!! If your persistence on Steemit is any indication of your persistence in real life (and I think it is) you'll get it eventually :)

@dexter-k, I appreciate your kind words. It's a lot of fun...and its $1000.00 cash for 1st. Steem On Dude!

Awesome @runridefly! you are the best steemian ever
Go dude Go... :D

@levycore, you make some sweetass lattes. Thank you for the awesome art.

Age is just a mindset. You are as young as your ideas are. Just reading your posts, your still in your prime.

@runrudy, I'm a teenager in my heart. Thank you for the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53