Latte Art :)

in #barista8 years ago

Sooooo, I've been a barista for about a year now. Not sure if I'll pursue it as a career while I'm in college but I've really loved everything I've learned so far. Here are two pictures of my favorites, the one in the blue mug is my pride and joy, I think it looks so much like a feather! My other is more lotus-like. If anyone is learning or wants to learn remember to take your time! It takes a lot of practice and patience so don't worry if they aren't perfect right away :)

Peace and love,

Miki

Sort:  

Nice coffee! How do you make the feather/lotus? You should check out and compete in the Steemit Food Challenge! https://steemit.com/foodchallenge/@givemeyoursteem/steemit-food-challenge-follow-up-and-3-more-prizes-to-win

Oh, cool! I'm not sure latte art would work in the breakfast theme haha. I do love making food though so that is something I would be super interested in being a part of! As for the making of the latter art, it's a bit difficult to explain... so you make your espresso shot and steam your milk, I only get to make them at work because espresso machines are VERY pricey. Then the rest is pouring technique, you start out by pouring a dollop in the middle then you pull the milk up as you do a circle around the cup. After that is when you begin your design, so you move the milk closer again and increase the amount your pouring so that the foam comes out and you make a subtle wrist motion side to side, the motion you makes varies how the design turns out. Then when the cup is almost full you pull the milk across the design as you lighten your pour so that it pulls the picture together! For beginners I would recommend just trying a heart, so no side to side motion just pour heavily to create a circle in the middle of the cup and pull through at the end :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39