Kitchen Sessions: Con Cassidy’s + Daniel Collins’ Father’s Jig

in #bardic6 years ago

Con Cassidy’s + Daniel Collins’ Father’s Jig on my Celtic Sweetone. 🎶

These were two of the earliest jigs I learned, thanks to my grandmother’s support of my Irish music habit. She saw in the newspaper that an Irish band called “Glen Road” was going to be playing at a local church and got us tickets. 🙂 I walked away with a CD called “The Tidy Cottage” by flute player Turlach Boylan, and after a hefty amount of fangirling 🤣 I set about immersing myself in the nuances of playing jigs, and beginning to play by ear. 💕 I was so proud of myself for learning that first jig on my own!! It has stuck with me to this day.

(Mirrored on Weku)

C8799BF4-F78A-4B16-B61B-400C47EA1F0D.jpeg

Sort:  

Awesome!
Made me want to dance ♥

🎶🤗
@heatherthebard
A beautiful joyful tune Heather
(:

Thank you! Gotta do something to keep warm, lol. (Temp is around 20* tonight.... ❄️☃️)

Whoa! Playing such difficult things by ear on the flute is very cool. Not every melody is simple to pick up on a usual guitar, but I'm not talking about the wind instruments! : )

As I recall, it took me a long time to learn it. 😛 But it opened the door for more learning and new skills!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63