You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Crypto: What Is A Central Bank Digital Currency

in #banking4 years ago

I thought that the central banks of the countries (or states) did not have an interference in the field of crypto-currencies. But I see that this is not necessarily so. In my country, Venezuela, the regime (that's what we call it, because it is a totalitarian state) created a supposed "crypto currency", which is not such, the so-called "petro", and which is under the control of the Central Bank. It would seem, then, that the world of the chain of blocks is not so decentralized or free, and that the power of the State always ends up being imposed, or not? I have observed in these last weeks that it can also be manipulated by a powerful individual (multimillionaire), just as I suppose it could be by certain economic groups.
Thanks for your post, @chekohler.

Sort:  

I tend to agree with you, I think it's even more dangerous than normal fiat because it's programmable, it's easier to monitor and revoke certain transactions and it's also easier to confiscate in a bail-in by the banks should an economic collapse. I'm not a fan of CBDCs but if it allows us to buy more BTC and make it easier, then I guess we can still use it to move into private money easier

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46