You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Bandwidth - User Experience Issue

in #bandwidth7 years ago

@timcliff - I know this post is 17 days old, and it's not likely to get much more attention. Nonetheless, just wanted to add my 2 cents here.

The bandwidth limit is massively problematic for new users. Every morning I become completely unable to post after upvoting one or two posts. The rest of the day I'm fine.

I think we'd be better off with a daily bandwidth allocation, rather than this rapidly recharging bandwidth model. Most users aren't constantly interacting with the platform, aside from the spam bots. It doesn't make sense to have bandwidth that is constantly recharging every few minutes, as this makes life very easy for the spam bots and very hard for the typical user.

I'd rather have less bandwidth allocated to me overall, but allocated on a daily basis rather than on an ongoing basis. Most of the time my bandwidth sits at 100%, unused. Once or twice per day when I log in, it drops to zero because I'm interacting with the platform. This is silly. Spam bots with less SP are interacting with the platform 500% more than me, but because I don't log in constantly throughout the day whenever my bandwidth maxes out, I'm the one that ends up losing out on bandwidth because of their activities.

We could also look at capping bandwidth on accounts, somewhere around 10-20mb. Haejin has 1.87gb of bandwidth, you have 223mb. The odds of either of you actually using all of your bandwidth are unfathomably low, and if you did it would likely be a sign of a massive abuse of the platform.

PS - I was stuck waiting over 2 hours to click the "Post" button on this comment because my bandwidth had dipped below 0 after making 1 upvote and 1 comment earlier this morning.

Sort:  

The bandwidth allocation is dynamic. During times when the network is busy, users have less. When the network is less busy, everyone’s limits are higher.

Also, your usage is measured across a week, not one day or a short burst of time.

As far as users with a lot of SP not using it all, that is kind of how it is used today. It assumes that the majority of users are not actively using their bandwidth.

The way it is setup and why is explained in the bluepaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83