You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Text Is Cheap

in #bandwidth6 years ago

Wow, didn't realize there was a bandwidth limit on Steemit... I leared something.

For the most part it surprises me that a lot of people don't understand a lot of the context you are talking about here.

I was always mad at internet companies that were obviously lying about their speeds to make them sound better. It took me a while to figure out how they were able to get away with it.

Then I realized that the internet companies lobby for lax laws so they are able to practically get away with murder of your wallet to fatten theirs.... sickens me it does.

Sort:  

Steem is forced to have a bandwidth limit. Otherwise hackers would DDOS attack it, put garbage on the blockchain, and bring Steem to a grinding halt.

I guess I never thought about that. Good information though. Hmm, I bet if enough people got together they could do damage but... with the way Steemit users have power I bet they could turn the tides rather quickly.

When Steem get's overwhelmed the witnesses just lower everyone's bandwidth temporarily. It used to happen A LOT 7 month ago. If you didn't have stake you couldn't post before noon on the west coast.

Oh wow, I had no idea that was a thing. I need to learn more about Steemit but oh well. At one point my account was worth over $22,000. After it fell to around $8,000 I started selling and used the money to move from California to Florida. Still powering down but who knows what I will do with it. I want to leave as much here as I can but for now I am using it to survive on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77