You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Bandwidth - User Experience Issue

Hello @timcliff and anyone else who might be able to answer this.

Using this post as an example, I'm wondering if massive image files like that can diminish my bandwidth more than using smaller, lower quality images? Do these file sizes have an impact?

Sort:  

No. Images are not stored on the blockchain, so they will not impact your bandwidth.

Thank you. I guess I'll just go bigger now.

@nonameslefttouse One thing you need to understand with respect to massive image files: your post will either not load or be incredibly slow if people are on slow internet connections or on their phones. This will make them lose interest in your post.
Nothing to do with Steemit, all about your ISP or device. Don't do it

I've developed a few trade secrets that help the reader stay focused while a massive image loads. I'm aware of the slow load up times. At the same time, I'm an artist. You're giving me good advice and bad advice at the same time. Some things are worth waiting for. People have really enjoyed the massive ones. I can still dial those down though, without much of a quality hit. I'm sure there's a happy middle ground that doesn't stunt my creativity.

I hope you find the middle ground. I have seen some great posts on here that never loaded at all and that was on PC. Phone as a browsing device is going to limit you even more :(
Longing for the free, fast internet nirvana.... and death to tiny shitty screens

I haven't had any complaints. I think after all this time, someone would have said something. I think I'll stick to my game plan. Seems to be working so far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59