Hi Steemit friends/just got back from Bali!

in #bali5 years ago

B19992D2-4197-4465-A7A7-FBA3B537193F.png

Hello Steemit Friends!

It’s been such a long time (again!!) since I’ve jumped on here and said hi! How are you all? If anyone feels like updating me re what’s been going on I’d love that!

Well, I just got back from a 5 week trip to Bali. It was a much needed getaway… I spent the entire time in Canggu--a little beach town that's a hub for surfers and a foodie heaven.

I got lots of RnR, did yoga, got some massages, spent some quality time with my Dad who was also on a holiday there, I made some new music (hoping to release some of it on a new EP soon), and basically lounged around and ate lots of amazing food.

It wasn’t without it’s challenges… my debit card got eaten by the ATM machine on the first day (learn from my mistake and ALWAYS travel with a back up!!) so it was quite a situation figuring out how to get cash…

I got bali belly a couple of weeks in… which is really not something to be taken lightly lol! My stomach does tend to be a bit sensitive when I travel, so I knew this was a possibility, but it’s never a fun experience! I won’t go into the gross details here, but let’s just say I was super grateful that my Dad was there to bring me crackers and coconut kefir etc!

Also as I was there for over 30 days, I needed to extend my visa which was quite a situation. I decided to use a visa agent (otherwise you need to go into immigration 3 times), and it was a little frightening handing off my passport to a stranger for 3 weeks!

Anyway, all worked out, and overall the trip was really restful and exactly what I needed!

Here are some pics of my time there!! (Lots of food and coffee of course!)

My first stop was coffee and breakfast at the famous Crate Cafe:

image00003.jpeg

image00001.jpeg

I was constantly blown away by the natural beauty...

image00004.jpeg

image00021.jpeg

image00010.jpeg

70F5712A-E63E-4C14-B5D4-8E462A5B1508.jpeg

I fell in love with The Shady Shack- a little healthy cafe with a beautiful outdoor garden and ridiculously yummy food

image00015.jpeg

image00006.jpeg

image00018.jpeg

image00017.jpeg

image00022.jpeg

image00019.jpeg

And I also ate at many local 'warungs'... you can find some seriously delicious Indonesian food for 50 cents-$2...!!

image00014.jpeg

image00011.jpeg

I know Bali is the perfect place to do some Vlogging, but am sorry to say I didn't do any! I was just soaking it all in and enjoying myself.

Also stay tuned because VERY soon I’ll be posting a long awaited new Mene unboxing!! 🙌🙌

I hope you’re all well and look forward to hanging out a little more in steemit land!

xo Bonnie

Instagram:
website:
Facebook:

Sort:  

BONNIE!!!! You are back heck yeah! Beautiful food photos holy moly looks like you had an amazing time in Bali - Bali belly.

As for an update... basically all hell broke loose as Steemit inc had an existential crises due to the bear market in crypto and had to lay off 70% of their staff. Oh and there was a possible witness mutiny that caused insane drama for about a week and a lot of yelling and screaming and almost seriously damaged everything about this place but now everything fine and people are talking again and we look stronger than ever.

Other than that you didn’t miss much.

Oh and YES YES YES YES on the Mene unboxing update! :)

PS im resteeming your post because I miss you so much

Wow thanks for the update, sounds like some crazy times! I'm so glad everything is ok now! Aww thanks for resteeming :) And I know it's taken a while but I'm really excited to share the unboxing soon :) :)

I am on the edge of my seat!! Also, you HAVE to check out whats new at Mene :) lots of exciting things and new stuff to look at :)

Great to see you back and 5 weeks of holiday??? Lucky duck!!!

Yes I was indeed a lucky duck!! 😎

That looks incredible. We're contemplating a family holiday but we're torn between Bali, the Gold Coast and a cruise. Kids are 9, 6 and 4.
I feel like they'd enjoy the cruise more, with the novelty of exploring a massive ship.
Decisions decisions.
Yeah bedlam here for a while.
The short version;
When steem first started it was mined like bitcoin and steemit INC mined a huge chunk of it without letting other people know how.
They've been funding themselves by slowly selling this big chunk.
Somebody wrote an update that would destroy the chunk entirely and some of the witnesses started discussing the idea of adopting that update.
Ned responded by powering it down and sending it to market; which is still ongoing.
We assume he's planning to move it to multiple alt accounts not publicly owned by steemit INC so it can't be destroyed.

Nice Matt, I've never been on a cruise so I can't speak to that but am sure it'd be a great experience for the kids!
And thanks for the update. I sort of understand what you said re the whole Steemit scene... sounds intense! I still see great potential in it all so I hope things work out on here!

image.png
This is as close as I'll get to the 10 year challenge. 2008 on our honeymoon.
Pacific Dawn out to Vanuatu. Great trip.

Love it Matt!

Welcome back! That looks like a fun trip, with plenty of sun and tasty food!

Yes it sure was! Hope you're well @lordvdr

I'm doing well. I finished my year of Star Wars Shirt posts and am now posting RPG books of the week. And planning a trip to Scotland later this year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24