DIY DOG TREATS!

in #baking5 years ago

Hi so it is my third week at home for the summer and as you could probably tell by the title I'm bored so I am making dog treats today for my dog I have the entire day to do absolutely nothing so this is what I'm doing with my time I am making him three different types of dog treats and I'm making one that is carrot one that is strawberry and one that's cheddar and bacon maybe if I have bacon so my dog is pretty picky so we'll see what treats he actually likes and if he even goes near them I'm going to try and make these dog treats the best I can I don't know if I have all the right materials but all of the ingredients will be dog friendly so this is my dog Nute the one who will be eating the treats today yeah he will be the star of the show all of my friends say that he is a very weird dog and that he eats very weirdly so that'll be a treat for you guys and for him all right so let's get started with this treat making so here I have my spread and my cooking utensils I'm going to set the oven to 300 degrees so the first one I'm going to be making is the strawberry one it has eggs peanut butter strawberry and oats pretty much in it so I don't think I think this is gonna be the one that he's gonna like the least because I don't think I've ever seen him eat a strawberry but I also don't know if he's ever tried strawberry so for the first treat I mixed in one egg 1/3 cup of peanut butter 1 cup of whole wheat flour 1/2 cup of oats and 5 ripe strawberries so this is going to be the strawberry treat and then after that you just put it in the oven or I think 20 minutes on 300 degrees so it'll be going in the oven I'm probably going to cut them into fun shapes are you getting hungry you getting hungry here is the pre oven product of the strawberry ones I kind of gave up halfway through with the animal shapes but the other ones they don't look too bad but Nute is getting very anxious to eat them I think he smells them and we'll see how they go so now I'm gonna put them in the oven for 20 minutes so while that's in the oven I'm going to start on the carrot treats so it's carrot puree and flour and cinnamon and oats I think so this one requires you to make a carrot puree which I'm pretty sure is just carrots and water in the blender so that's not it then I apologize but I think that's it so some sounds kind of gross to me but we will see if new likes it so these are what the finished cookies look like for the strawberry they look the same except just a little bit darker but they are a lot harder to the touch they feel like actual treats so I'm gonna let those sit and harden up and then but the carrot ones it so here are the carrot cookies before they go in this is what they look like up close mmm yummy I think you could get a flower which would make them look less chunky but I just used oats because it's easier than oat flour but I'm gonna put these in the oven for I think it's 35 minutes for 400 on 400 degrees so they are so these are the carrot they will be going into the oven for a little bit over a half hour these ones are supposed to be extra crispy so we're gonna leave them in for a little bit longer so before anyone says that you're not supposed to give ham to dogs my dog has a very high tolerance for any and all food he really eats a lot of people food which I know he's not supposed to but he's fine he's eaten him for his normal checkups and the first ones are done so go check so the recipe calls for fully cooked bacon and I know ham comes cooked but I'm gonna Pansear it to make it a little bit harder so it doesn't have too much about chewy effect on the whole tree so here we have the cooked ham and then it calls for a half a cup of cheddar cheese along with some oatmeal some eggs and then you put it in the other so here is how the ham and cheese and all one's turned out I genuinely think that these are going to be his favorite so the carrot ones are about done these ones actually smell really good they smell like fresh baked cookies so I know how these might be a contender with the ones that I just made so right here we have carrot and strawberry that are officially done and now I am putting in the cheese and ham so these ones actually go in for a little bit less time set myself a nice timer and then we'll let those sit for about a half hour and then once those are done sitting we will have new try all of them and see which one he likes best so these are the final treats with the cheddar and bacon and I think the he's got like these the best so here is the finished product of all three treats there is the strawberry one the carrot one and the ham and cheese one all right so currently going outside to see which one of these is Nutes favorite he is very excited to try them he says they smell good so I'm gonna give him one of each and then I'm going to see which one he chooses after that so this one is the strawberry one which he is taking away to go eat all right so I don't know how he's liking the strawberry one oh okay so then this is the carrot one all right no dice at all and I'm gonna give him half of this one because this one's big okay so now I'm gonna set up all three right here so there has three options we're gonna see which one he picks which one are you get a picnic yeah which one you want so the winner is the ham and cheese one as predicted he likes this one the best so Nute is refusing to even try the carrot treat he's just spitting it out you don't like these ones she tried it did you like it so all in all was a successful experiment if I think Nute says so his self he enjoyed all of the treats yeah and is a very happy puppy now so I think I'll have to make all of those again and I'm excited for him to keep eating all of them and yeah he really enjoyed it I think he liked the ham and cheese one the best but honestly he liked them all pretty equally I think that yeah I think you like them all pretty equally so thanks for watching Nute can you say thanks for watching speak speak speak

As found on Youtube



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://puppiesgonewrong.com/?p=347
Sort:  

Congratulations @ladyonline! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84