Another mug cake!

in #baking6 days ago
It's been a while but I'm back with another try at a mug cake.


image.png
Final product

This time my recipe is from a tiktok creator who's recipe uses:

Batter

  • 6 tablespoons Plain flour
  • 3 tablespoons Sugar
  • half a teaspoon Baking powder
  • 60ml warm water
  • 40ml of any type of oil

Cinnamon swirl

  • half a tablespoon Melted butter
  • 1 tablespoon Brown sugar
  • a third of a teaspoon Cinnamon

That's right! This time, it's a cinnamon swirl mug cake 😊 I love cinnamon swirls so was very excited.


Progress pics!

So quite simple to start with, I put the dry ingredients of the batter into a large bowl (avoiding making it straight in the mug haha).


image.png
dry ingredients

After this, I mixed the dry ingredients a little and added the warm water and olive oil.


image.png
wet ingredients for batter

Gave it a quick mix with a fork (I have no hand held whisk haha) and this is what the batter looked like!


image.png
Batter

I felt like the batter came out a lot more watery than it should but wasn't sure how to fix it. So just hoped it would work out correctly haha.
Now onto the cinnamon swirl aspect.

I quickly melted some of the butter in the microwave before this, which helped make it easier to mix. Then, I added all of the ingredients for it at once!


image.png
cinnamon swirl

Super easy and quick, I now had the cinnamon swirl mix ready!


image.png
cinnamon swirl mixture

In the video, the tiktoker explains that you need to separate the batter into thirds, in order to layer in the cinnamon swirl mixture. They used a piping bag to add it in, however I just used a teaspoon and a fork to add it and make swirl effects.


image.png
cinnamon swirl effects

After putting all of the batter into the mug, I put it into the microwave for the stated minute and a half. However, I had to keep putting it for longer as it kept coming out very 'wet' and raw looking.

Overall, it did taste good, but was really dense after a while.


image.png
final result

This recipe has potential, but definitely not as a mug cake haha.
That's it for today! 🙌

Sort:  

Wow! This looks and sounds delicious, can never go wrong with some cinnamon! :)
Even though the batter was initially watery, I'm glad it worked in the end!
Would you try this recipe again? Or are you looking for a different recipe? Excited to see the next one!

I think I would try it again, but I might adjust it a bit so that it is less dense!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60930.55
ETH 2367.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48