Bread of Disappointment

in #baking6 years ago

You should never do anything half-assed. Do it with all your spirit, be it a failure or success, at least you did it seriously.

I haven't baked bread for a while. I started my sourdough few days ago and didn't have time to bake it into bread - while not wanting to throw it away.

Finally I made some time, but I was already unsure if the bread would actually succeed. The smell was not completely what it should be, but close enough. I was on a tight schedule, so I had to do few things at the same time.

I was really unfocused.

This was not what baking should be for me. It has always been a stress-free method to erase the worries from my mind. Now I was not even worried, but I wasn't in the baking mode at all.

Helmikuu 2018 - 231.JPG

The flour was added to the activated sourdough. I didn't even measure this time, as I trusted I know what I'm doing. Usually I know it.

Helmikuu 2018 - 232.JPG

I added some honey to give it more flavor and to soften the sour taste with a bit of sweetness.. at least that's what I assumed. In the end my wife said the bread tasted a bit like beer, might be because of the honey.

Helmikuu 2018 - 237.JPG

Mixmixmixmixmixmix!

This is kind of the most boring part, as you have to do it in total for... how long, I'd say almost 20 minutes for the finish I'm usually looking for. However, this leaves more space to do something else, like playing games on the phone.

You have far too little time for important things like this. This is the part I'm very rarely taking any shortcuts and I'm proud of myself in that.

Helmikuu 2018 - 241.JPG

This was the one part where I failed. I wanted this to be a "oven tray bread", flat and covering the whole oven tray. However because I didn't focus almost at all, the dough was both too small and too thick to be easily spread. Usually I'm making thick dough so I can give it fun forms, but this time it didn't help.

I got pissed off at the damned bread and left it like that.

Fuck you bread!

Helmikuu 2018 - 242.JPG

And this is what I get. A disappointing bread. It's not the fault of the bread though, I am the one to blame.

I have disappointed myself and the bread.

The taste was pretty good though.

I didn't get any pleasure from baking, so I assume it shows. They say you can taste love in the food, I wouldn't be surprised if it was true.

Without love, there is no effort. Without effort, it's hard to find success.

Helmikuu 2018 - 251.JPG

Luckily my chili seedlings are doing great!

I added them on the post to avoid this post for being only about the failures. There is always success.

Sort:  

Please did you know what you did to that my post, is a pity, you just misjurge me and my post. you just jump into conclusion easily. Well is your own understanding, Too bad making me to have sure lost from your flaging. What a pity from that chat room, no encouragement

Yes. So you are basically saying, I misunderstood your post because you are advising to hit women in the body instead of the face to avoid shame.

Yay.

There is no reason to encourage you for such ideas.

oh u planting ice-cream!

Just stick that tray to a freezer and I've got the most special ice cream you've ever tasted! ;)

very unique flavor!!!!

Did you draw this yourself? ;)

The bread might have been a disappointment @apsu , but is this the new camera??? Wow! I believe it must be! I can’t wait to see more shots from it!! Everyone is unfocused at some time, few realise it, the camera and you are not!! Beer bread doesn’t sound that bad! New market??

It's just a shame I dislike beer.. and so does my wife.

AND YES. The new camera is FABULOUS <3

It's really good that you're making your own bread but it looks so crap hahah. It's still great skill though (or should I say dough?). lol

Hey, don't make fun of my bread.. or wait, you can. I'll bake you a serious bread in the near future. You'll see!

You can bake me too! Then I'll be bread with banana taste.

It doesn't matter how the bread looks, but how it tastes. The most important thing is to cover it in butter, while still warm.

You must keep us updated on your chilis. I have always wanted to do some gardening. Unfortunately I am not really in the position to do so.

Well the taste wasn't actually that good. I just tried to lie to myself.

I'll make better bread and grow fantastic chilis. I can promise this to you, cricket.

haha, u bread looks like "Khobz"...! 😅

khobz is kind of big messy bread, we had on our Morocco tour.. 🤣
btw i love the format of starting a post with a quote, this brings good vibes on the article..! i also tried to follow this format..👌

Cheers to ur chili seedlings, at first i thought this is a chocolate icecream box with sticks on it..!🤣

~Greetings from Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

I'll have to google what khobz is.. but sounds like "kops" which is basically the sound what comes when something hard falls down, usually on the head.

And nooo, it's not icecream or chocolate :D

I too believe the same "we should never do anything half-assessed"!! :)

if sourdough goes overtime, there is too much citric acid in it and it kind of makes suicide... but don't get depressed! Every fail makes you better ^^

That's a good point, forgot completely about that.. damn, all the sourdough is on acid(yo?).

Better luck next time! :D

Well I wish I could blame luck, but this time I can only blame myself and my own laziness :)

Haha, okay! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63887.77
ETH 3417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56