What if Filter! - Reimagining Post-War Environments

in #baghdad7 years ago (edited)

The What if Filter!


While I’m working on my research “Architecture in War” with Columbia University I started gathering photos of Baghdad taken by my friends and other professional photographers. I couldn't help but notice a beautiful Baghdad portrayed by those photographers, very different from what I actually saw when I visited the city back in June, as if those photographers applied a beautiful photo filter that used in snapchat or instagram.


01.jpg
02.jpg

  • Multiple beautiful filtered photos of Baghdad from Baghdad instagram page

The Baghdad I saw is completely transformed from the Baghdad I left 11 years ago. Unlike the beautiful filter that is used by the photographers a new real-life filter is added to the city. The filter can be named “War Residue” filter. This filter is harsh, dirty, dark and can instantly overwhelms you with a sense of loss to the point where you don’t even recognize your childhood home in your old neighbourhood.


03.jpg

  • I consider this to be the saddest photo I took of the city; I call it the Palm Massacre. U.S. Army burned this field of palm trees in fear of insurgents who were believed to be hiding in the field

On a positive note we can remove the “War Residue” filter easily by performing few steps. To explain this I’m launching the “What if filter” initiative where I display an image of an existing condition in Baghdad and then show a new image portraying how we can improve our urban condition with minor, and/or sometimes big steps. The “What if Filter” initiative intends to encourage us as citizens, private developers and government officials to bring back the beautiful Baghdad that we know..


ماذا لو ؟

من خلال العمل على بحثي ( العمارة خلال الحرب ) الذي كلفتني به جامعة كولومبيا – نيويورك تمكنت من الحصول على مجموعة من الصور الملتقطة لمدينة بغداد من قبل بعض الاصدقاء والمصورين المتخصصين ... لقد كانت هذه الصور تعكس واقعا" جميلا" للمدينة خلافا" لما شاهدته في الواقع لدى زيارتي لبغداد في حزيران الماضي. كأنما قاموا هؤلاء المصورون بتطبيق فلتر مفرح يشبه الفلتر الذي يستخدموه معظم البنات في السناب شات و الانستغرام مما أضاف مسحة من الجمال على هذه الصور.

ما شاهدته في حقيقة الواقع فلتر بعيدا تمام البعد عن الجمال. فلتر اسميته في حينها فلتر " بقايا الحرب " أنتج صورا كئيبة مؤلمة تحسسك بانعدام الهوية والغربة عن المدينة وشوارعها وبيوتها وتراثها وبعدها الحضاري الذي اعتدت عليه ... كم شعرت بالأسى في زيارتي السابقة الى بغداد وما شاهدته من التغيير الذي حصل لمحلتي القديمة وشارعي وبيتي الذين تركتهم منذ 11عاما" ... ان الخراب والتجاوزات والأهمال وغياب التخطيط المدني الحاصل للمدينة بسبب الحروب اشعرني كم نحن متأخرين عن ركب الحضاري والعمراني خلال هذه الفترة.

مما جاء اعلاه فكرت بإطلاق حملة اسميتها " ماذا لو؟ " وهي مبادرة لحث المؤسسات الحكومية ومنظمات المجتمع المدني وكذلك الأهالي لتحسين حال مدينة بغداد ... يتم ذلك من خلال تصوير المكان بوضعه الحالي ومن ثم تصوير نفس المكان بواسطة الفلتر الذي اسميته " ماذا لو؟ " لتقديم الصورة المحسنة لنفس المكان ومن ثم تقديم إيجاز بالإجراءات التي ستكون بسيطة والسبل المقترحة التي يتطلبها هذا التحسين ... في اعتقادي انها محاولة لن تكلف شيئا" وبالتالي تستحق التطبيق في مسعى لأرجاع بغداد الى أساسها الحضاري الجميل الذي اعتدنا عليه.


Composit-01.jpg

  • What If Filter shows how we can transform a whole building block by taking few steps

follow-noor.makkiya.gif

Sort:  

subhanallah very good
@noor.makkiya I like this picture

I really think the “War Residue” filter vs. the "What if Filter" is compelling. Super interesting commentary on how conflict completely transforms your sense of place... and sense of belonging.

Thank you @voronoi for your comment. Yes I'm still trying to figure them out as I go. I keep looking at my surroundings and I try to give names to the layers that I'm finding

Crypto Exchange In Australia?

This is a good article on the best crypto exchange Australia!?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60626.97
ETH 3358.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45