Kentucky Redneck Bacon Crack Candy 2.0

in #bacon8 years ago (edited)

I remember my great grandfather making us redneck bacon candy at his farm in Paducah Kentucky when I was a kid. Yes, it was with farm raised fresh bacon.  Here's my modified single serving version, I hope you like it.

Ingredients:

  • bacon, in this version I use microwaveable single serving packaged style
  • brown sugar or light brown sugar
  • cayenne pepper
  • cinnamon

Step 1: Open the bag of bacon, remove 2 strips of bacon and place it on wax paper

Step 2: Mix one heaping table spoon of brown sugar with a small amount of cayenne pepper the first time. I like heat and for myself do 1 level teaspoon vs. what you see here. It should look like this for light heat.

Step 3: Spray the top side of bacon with olive oil cooking spray and spread the mix onto the bacon. Then use the bottom of a tablespoon to press the mix into the bacon.

Step 4: Mix 1 heaping tablespoon of brown sugar with 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. Apply that mix to the two other strips of bacon using the same method. Fortunately I have this cinnamon essence spice grinder that has both sugar and cinnamon combined so I just used that. 

Step 5: Add an additional paper towel to the existing one in the plastic, place the bacon back in the plastic, cover it back up and place a wet paper towel over it to hold it together. Place it in the nuker and cook to liking. I nuked this batch for 4:30 minutes to get this outcome in our microwave but that will vary. It's all about cooking it enough to get that caramelization where the brown sugar and bacon grease meet. A much easier task with version 1.0 for a large quantity of bacon under the broiler but this is my single serving version.

Step 6: Lay it on a fresh paper towel first to soak up some of the grease. Cut it in 1/2 for single bits and eat.

Step 7: Clean up all the evidence before anyone gets home.

More family recipes to come, my mom raised me on some out of sight dishes but I must warn she is from Kentucky where flavor trumps calorie counting every time. If you benefited from me sharing this an upvote would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Sort:  

SB:beanz
I'm gonna try this ;)

I'm to hungry to be looking at this... Bookmarked to try someday. Thanks for sharing!

My pleasure and thanks for commenting. More recipes to come.

Not sure why the photo of Dave Chappelle with the reference of "Red Neck" in this recipe?

It's a regular character he played on "The Chappelle Show" on Comedy Central, a crack addict. The reference is redneck bacon is addicting. Redneck bacon is often referred to as redneck crack as in "when are you going to make some more of that redneck crack and bring it to work?"
Thank you for your question and have a great Sunday.

Okay. Thanks. I never watched the Dave Chappell show. I appreciate your kind response!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.90
ETH 2348.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36