Sort:  

It probably was. I haven't had time to look into all angles of this (I am sick with the flu and saw this a few hours ago), but did notice that Saddam was blasted for using something similar. In the same Wikipedia link I listed above, at the bottom it says the U.S. uses some kind of rationale on why their using it is not a violation.

Yeah I think because they claim it's for night-time lightning when it's used in flares, but I think this is for practice/mock scenarios. Either way it doesn't seem like something that just goes missing and nobody is wiser.

From the Wiki article above:

According to the field manual on the Rule of Land Warfare, "The use of weapons which employ fire, such as tracer ammunition, flamethrowers, napalm and other incendiary agents, against targets requiring their use is not violative of international law."[109] The 1999 ST 100-3 Battle Book, a student text published by the US Command and General Staff College at Fort Leavenworth, states that "It is against the law of land warfare to employ WP against personnel targets."[110] At the same time, other field manuals discuss the use of white phosphorus against personnel

I see that the Wikipedia link in my post mentions Israel admitting to using them in 2009. Guessing the average Israeli has about as much say in it as we here in the U.S. have had. Guessing as well it isn't an average topic that takes place for the majority to even have the conversation. I am not a huge fan on war, although I used to study history so read about it enough. I am still ignorant on these warheads, having learnt everything I know about them in the last few hours.

And @baah was correct, the wiki article does say they were banned in the Geneva convention. But when they say banned, it only seems to apply to "rogue" nations not part of the in countries.

Considering the recent UN Security Council's condemnation of Isreal's actions in Gaza, one could consider them a Rogue Nation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87