They came, and They Left, but Steemit remained.

in #backtosteemit5 years ago (edited)

CYMERA_20180423_075413.jpg

Time is what it is. Something that we have, and at the same time, don't. It takes from you, and gives back to you at its convenience. It flies when you're not looking, and drags on unbearably when you are. It is a healer, and a comforter, and it will always be our teacher. There was a time when steemit made me believe that my career as a writer was in full swing, and admittedly, there came a time when steemit made me lose faith, and shamefully put down my pen. I think time is the only thing that is incredibly good at being a friend and a foe simultaneously.

Most times we think we're doing something the right way, until time makes us realise that we don't know shit about what we're doing. And when reality hits, it hits hard, as hard as the bear market hit. I took a trip down memory lane, and was a bit shocked at how much time has passed since the dip.

Last year I joined steemit, found a place for myself, and quickly rose through the ranks. I had finally found a place that harnessed a skill that I wasn't even sure that I had, I had a humanitarian job that I loved, and it was my final year of college. Not enough has happened since then, to change the notion that last year had to have been the best year of my life. It was fun to be part of something unusual, and being appreciated for just being part of something bigger than myself, made me feel ten feet tall.

Things were really good when the market prices were good, minnows were streaming in to steemit everyday, projects were launched, and it was like time stood still, while we soared. But when the dip came, it took everything down with it. We were stripped of every morale, zeal, and enthusiasm we had, as the prices got worse everyday. We waited, hoped, prayed, and waited some more, but the prices just sank lower, taking our spirits with it, and in time, people began to leave.

With every failure, there are lessons to be learnt, and the bear market taught me a few. I learnt to live in the moment, to enjoy what I can, when I can, because whatever is given, can be taken away at any time. I learnt the hard way that all my eggs shouldn't be in one basket, if I'd invested some of my profits from steemit somewhere else, the pain would've been mild. I also learnt to be strong, storms will definitely come and they'll go, but it is strength and perseverance that'll keep you.

A lot has happened since the bear market came, I lost my job, graduated from college, I stopped writing, and I found new hobbies. Steemit was home for over a year, even though I wasn't present for a while, I never really left. She nurtured me, and made me see myself in a different light, and for that, I'll always be her ambassador.

People came and left under certain circumstances, but steemit remained, and I'm glad that she did, else runaway soldiers like me wouldn't have a home to return to.

SAVE_20190329_103927.jpeg

Sort:  

Hey, Lucent, welcome back. Cannot say i've seen your posts around in the past, but i did take a look at your previous works after reading this one and they're full of value. Cannot say for sure if the bears are down now, but will sure love to have someone with your writing prowess around on here, especially since you're Nigerian. Gave you a follow, do return to posting whenever you can. Thanks.

Thanks for reading, there's nothing more encouraging to a writer like acknowledgement and praise of their work. I'll do my best to get back on the horse. Thanks again.

Thanks for being the welcome wagon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45