You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 591,818 STEEM POWER WITH 153 MEMBERS AND COUNTING

in #backscratcher5 years ago

You can just call it Collusion Inc.

Far better name than backscratcher. How about we find a real solution for getting good content discovered. This vote-for-vote stuff is not going to be sustainable in the end.

I'm probably being a bit hypocritical complaining about this, since I do a lot of auto-voting myself. It's just that these types of systems look really bad from the outside... I mean it basically means that your earnings depend on how much SP you have, the quality of your content isn't much of a factor this way.

Sort:  

Its only saving grace is that it's once a day, but it's coupled with a spammy dapp.

It's even lower effort than @dlike. There is a reason it's branded Spam2Steem by those who mitigate abuse. Take a look at this guy. All those random bs for $2-3 a day.

Sure, we will get activity, but that activity is no different than botnets used in mainstream to boost traffic. Just more people extracting value and increasing inflation.

The cynical me also feel that of the number of people they claim to be using their spam platform is inflated. The number is probably close to 5% real accounts with 95% being alts farming.

That’s one way to look at it. Another perspective is that regardless of content quality, you will not get consistent rewards on STEEM. You will get hit by curation groups or a whale from time to time but I think it’s better to have a baseline as it not only will encentivise people who post good content to continue to do so but also encourages powering up.

In an ideal world people would post good content and be rewarded appropriately. I believe we’ll be there one day, but we’re not there yet. In the meantime, every single person that is getting decent rewards on STEEM is via auto voting or something along those lines. If it keeps people engaged and powering up, I think it’s good.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can understand both your argument and the argument of @daan. I do not want to talk about whether it is objectionable to find and exploit gaps in the system. The fact is that this will always happen and that only so others will be aware of it and hopefully these gaps can be closed. Everyone has to decide which way to go. The offer is definitely seductive.

Well why aren't you downvoting it?
But yeah it just kind of feels gross

I reserve my downvotes for serious abuse/spam, which this isn't. Besides, as I've mentioned, I also auto-vote certain authors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70