Backpack Zombies. A shortstory about young travelers in southeast Asia.

in #backpacker8 years ago (edited)

And again I stuck in a minibus, heading from Thailand to Cambodia. The travel agency which sold me the ticket told me, the trip will take around 8 hours, so I will probably arrive late evening after starting at 7 am. That's ok, time doesn't matter... I am a backpacker, a wanderer, I finished with western behaviors and that stressful lifestyle, although only for a few weeks or months until I get back home to my fancy life. Until then, I can post loads of my amazing travel pictures on Facebook and Instagram, so that my friends and family can follow me on my new, authentic, off-the-path travel routine, which I mostly looked about in my lonely planet book, following its leads. I really like it. Sometimes I think, they only wrote that book for me, knowing exactly what kind of beaches I love, what bars I prefer for drinking some cheap cheap beers with my travel buddies and which cultural sights I want to visit. So here I sit since a few hours, in between some other backpackers taking the same route as me and enjoying their authentic independent travel lifestyle. While looking for some Hostel hints in my book, I'm appeasing my hunger by eating that yummy Oreo Cookies I bought at 7/11, very cheap, hurray. During bus travels I am actually always hungry, that's why I always take those Oreos with me...I mean, even though I had veggie croissant breakfast at the hostel this morning, I'm still hungry. And thirsty as well, I'll get a ice-cold coke at the next stop. Hopefully soon, I also need a toilet break and I have no idea when the driver will stop for it. I don't want to ask him, his english is terrible and I don't want to blame myself in front of the other backpackers, I have to keep calm.
I have to think about yesterday night, it was amazing. First I had dinner at a very cool streetfood place, I really felt like a local there and the food was gorgeous, thus a little too spicy. Lucky me, that they had an english menue, so I was able to order. After that, I met my hostel friends at the great pub I looked out on lonely planet (I think it was called backpack pub). It was such a fun to meet all those other travelers and having drinks together. It's cool, to always meet the same kind of people at the same kind of bars and pubs. I like sharing stories about travel experiences, I love to tell people where I have been so far and tell them every single stunning amazing thing I have seen. It's funny, that others often have similar experiences like me, what a small world.
After the bar I took a Tuk Tuk to the hostel. I often have the feeling that they ask me for too much money. But now that I am a quite experienced traveler, I know the prices - and I am used to bargain for a cheap price. Only yesterday it was a little bit expensive, because it was the night price, the driver told me.
I arrived well at my room, and had some crisps before I went to sleep. That's ok, because in the morning I always drink a fruit shake to boost my health. These sweetish shakes are really healthy and fresh, and yummy!
Apropos, I need some more Oreos...I hope they will last until arriving. I just took the last ones out of my buddha-style handbag, which I bought on the night market yesterday. I went to the touristic night market to buy some clothes, I wondered they don't sell those beautiful stuff at the small local market I went through by accident. However.

Oh, already arrived at the border. On the internet I read some scaring stories about the border scams, so I decided to let the travel agency handle that for me, they know what they do and they now the prices - less stress and money for me.
After crossing the border I will small-talk to the other travelers, maybe they have some insider tips what to do at the next destination.
Now I really need a toilet, some cookies and a soft drink!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43