A cure for lower back pain?

in #back7 years ago


I have partial paralysis which means that I use a wheelchair or crutches (for short distances).
About 20 years ago, I strained my back muscles going for a long walk with crutches. It seemed as if someone had stuck a knife in my back. I was staying at a friend’s house for the weekend and immediately took the 2 hour drive home. During the journey, I felt pangs of pain every few seconds, but by then time I arrived home they had disappeared.
Sure enough, the next day the pain was back and in fact got worse whenever I to lift anything rather heavy, like a wheelchair. To a paraplegic, this is a problem because lifting wheelchairs is part of what we do.
My solution first of all was to use a hot water bottle pressed against the area. This gave relief, but not enough. So, what did I do? I put boiling water in the bottle, which proved to be even better against the pain. This is how I went through life for the next 20 years – endless hot water bottles filled with boiling water and an endless stream of physiotherapists and chiropractors and every other type of alternative therapist.
Along the spine, there are layers of muscles. The damage to my back was in one of the deeper layers, which is why it was difficult to treat. A few years ago, I went to visit family in Australia, which meant a long trip from Holland where I live. I had to sit for a whole day, without being able to lie down. To cut a long story short, I was given fentanyl plasters in Australia to treat the pain. This might be effective against pain, but it made me feel stifled, claustrophobic, depressed and a few other delightful emotions spring to mind. I even burnt myself accidently a few times with boiling water.
A few months ago, I heard the daughter of a friend talk about DRY NEEDLING therapy to treat her pain and how effective it was. I immediately made an appointment with Franc, a dry needling therapist.
This is what Franc did. He found out where the sensitive spots were on my back when pressing with his finger. He explained that when muscle is damaged, the fibres form knots which made it difficult for the fibres to expand normally. This causes the pain. By inserting a thin acupuncture needle (not painful) and then wiggling it around, Franc tried to pierce the knot, thus causing it to unravel. When it struck home, I felt a sharp sensation of pain which went away after a few seconds. What Franc noticed at the same time was a muscle twitch, which told him he had arrived at the right spot. These twitches are caused by the energy being released when the knot unravels.
I must have had 15 or so weekly sessions with Franc and each time he generated about 5 or so twitches. Every time I felt the needle strike home using this invasive technique, I immediately tensed in response to the brief sensation of pain, but I can tell you, this was the best pain I’ve ever felt. The reason is, I knew it meant far less pain in the future.
After the sessions, I am virtually void of back pain. For the first time in 20 years! No more hot water bottles with boiling water or panic at thinking of a long painful trip to Australia!
Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54096.18
ETH 2412.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.10