BABY DRIVER

in #babydriver7 years ago (edited)

I saw this movie twice and I have no problem with watching it again and again, it has been a long time since I have seen a film that has given me that reaction. Most of the films coming out nowadays, you watch once and you don't really want to watch it again, ever.

Even though I have seen this movie twice, I have yet to see the very first frame, because I get there too late. If anything, this makes me want to watch it one more time in theatres so I can see the beginning.

The movie is a musical/action/romance - even though they don't break into dancing and singing, the music is always playing, whether through the earbuds, the radio or the cd player. The characters may not have dance numbers but the way the camera moves around them and they around it, feels like you are watching them dance.

The 'baby' in the film is a guy that I have never seen in a movie before, so much so that I thought that the scars on his face were actual scars ( I never watched the divergent bullshit) Baby, is a likeable guy, calm, quiet and endearing and his baby face easily allows him to get our sympathy, even though he does actually murder two people, and is an accessory to so many others and robs off with a bumble bee mustang and takes the phone with him.

The second time I watched it, I tried to listen to the sound, how he used it and what visuals he used to accompany the it, and what sticks out to me is the last robbery, the rain hitting he windscreen, the indicator ticking away and the opening and slamming of the boot.

Jamie Fox was funny yet an actual psychopath, which is maybe plausible, his most funny moments were his justifications for robbing a bank, 'they took our things while we were sleeping, we here to get them back, they deserve it' ( I paraphrase) and then later in the film, he is speaking to Don Draper and he deduces that he is a Wallstreet guy and rips into him, telling him he is actually a good guy compared to the crooks on Wallstreet. He has some 1 percenter resentment in him. Spacey, is the mastermind behind the robberies, but we never get to see him do Joe Pesci shit, which he says he does but I don't know if I believe him.

With regards to Hamm's character, it was left field that he came after Baby the way he did, he had a friendly relationship with him,and then as soon as his 'Darling' was killed he went after him like Micheal Myers. His crayz behaviour was stated in the statements of his lover, that 'When Buddy sees red,' he goes fucking crazy (I paraphrase) in real life people don't go completely mental if they for most of the time are normal and show a bit of hesitancy in killing someone they actually liked, here Hamm sees red and wants Baby dead.

The film needs to be watched, for the music, the comedy, the action, the dialogue, the cinematography, the choreography, the long shot in the beginning of the film and of course the romance.

5/5

Sort:  

Forgot about this movie. I will check it out soon ;)
Thx
Followd

watch it - its awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58251.90
ETH 3138.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24